Food for Fuel: Salmon and Purple Stuff

September 16, 2008 at 9:14 pm | Posted in Food, Nutrition, Product Review, Seafood, Vegetable Side Dishes | 9 Comments

I love salmon, and last time I went grocery shopping I found a convenient and decently priced frozen product. Gorton’s Grilled Salmon comes with two salmon fillets in one box. I made one for the first time tonight and it was very tasty for frozen fish, but small. Good thing I had lots of side dishes to go with it!

Sorry for the awful picture. They’re all awful tonight. Must experiment with new camera instead of just clicking away.

Anyway, the Gorton’s fillets were pre-seasoned, but I added this glaze. I didn’t heat it in a pan, but just mixed the ingredients and then poured them on the salmon, which I baked in a little foil boat on a pan to keep the glaze on top. (Picture is post-baking)

The glaze was fantastic! I don’t know how much the Gorton’s seasoning altered it though. But wow, it may be my new favorite salmon flavoring.

Onto the side dishes. I had some red cabbage leftover from a recipe I made last week (that you were sadly deprived of because of technical difficulties). Anyway, I don’t know many recipes for cabbage, but I did make a tasty one last year using white cabbage after MSB accidentally bought it instead of lettuce. So, I made it again last night. This is a very good recipe and I definitely owe this woman a thank-you note or something, because I constantly use recipes from her site and they are all wonderful. I used Smart Balance Light instead of butter and Dijon mustard because I didn’t have any fancy coarse-grained mustard.

I don’t think I’ve ever eaten anything so…purple. I also baked a potato and topped it with a wedge of Laughing Cow cheese and green onions. I served the salmon fillet on leftover ratatouille.  Now I have both leftover ratatouille and cabbage. Guess I won’t have to make any side dishes for a while.

Nutrition of this Meal

This meal contains 13 ingredients from the World’s Healthiest Foods list:

  • Bell pepper (ratatouille)
  • Cabbage
  • Eggplant (ratatouille)
  • Garlic
  • Onions
  • Mushrooms (ratatouille)
  • Potato
  • Summer squash (ratatouille)
  • Tomatoes (ratatouille)
  • Salmon
  • Low-fat cheese
  • Oregano
  • Honey
9 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. love the pictures and blog- my question is about that ultimate ab workout link you have- what is the dynamic phase? i see the base workout, and the phase 2 of the base workout, but where does it talk about or list the exercises for the dynamic phase? good luck also on becoming a personal trainer- i just got certified in june by nsca!

  2. I LOVE that grilled salmon for a last minute FRICK THERE IS NO FRESH PROTEIN IN THE HOUSE dinner.

    my husband wont eat it :)

    gags at the sight.

    he.crazy.

  3. something about frozen salmon grosses me out. it never tastes right for some reason. did your salmon taste like normal salmon, or do u think the seasonings covered up the frozen taste?

  4. Tra: The article online doesn’t make it very clear (the one in the magazine is better). Online, it’s on page two. The heading says Dynamic Strength.

    MizFit: I think my boyfriend would eat the salmon, but would laugh at the cabbage. Poor cabbage.

    rhodeygirltests: It was really, really good. Fresh salmon would be better, I’m sure. I recommend always using a good marinade or glaze when you use frozen fish products.

  5. Eating purple things always makes me feel even more healthy than usual. Red cabbage. Purple kale. That salmon is a good tip. I’ll have to check out whether it’s cheaper than the frozen coho I get from trader joe’s. Fresh is best, but frozen is better (to me) than it’s other cheap cousin, canned.

  6. I love the purple creation. There needs to be more purple veggies out there. Have you tried the purple potatoes? that may have completed the meal.

  7. Meghann: It’s a red potato (which look kind of purple). Are there purple potatoes out there somewhere!?

  8. Yes there are purple potatoes! I was saying you should have had one to complete the meal. They were all over the blog world at the beginning of the summer adn I saw them at Publix. Google it. They are pretty cool, they’re actually purple on the inside too :)

  9. [...] with chicken and a tomato-based sauce. I’m all out of fresh protein sources, so I used a Gorton’s Grilled Salmon instead. I was also going to use my favorite jarred sauce and just add a few things, but I opened [...]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

