Food for Fuel: Veggie Baked Omelette

November 6, 2008 at 11:43 am | Posted in Food, Nutrition, Other | 7 Comments

I almost decided to be lame and just eat a veggie burger last night, but then I discovered that Meghann chose eggplant as this week’s blogger secret ingredient. I love eggplant, and when it was in season I was cooking with it every week. See the bottom of this post for more of my eggplant recipes.

I had some eggs to use up, so I decided to make a baked omelette. First, though, I roasted the eggplant: I sliced up about half of it, lay the slices on a baking sheet, sprayed both sides with Smart Balance cooking spray, and roasted them for 20 minutes at 400*.

Next, I sprayed a glass casserole dish and lay the eggplant slices along the bottom. I covered the slices with thawed frozen spinach (blot the water with a few paper towels). I covered the eggplant and spinach with my egg filling, consisting of:

  • 2 beaten eggs
  • 1 cup liquid egg whites (from carton)
  • 1/2 cup light, plain soymilk
  • a little leftover prosciutto, chopped small
  • 3/4 tsp. dried oregano
  • 3/4 tsp. dried basil
  • 1 tsp. garlic powder

I layered the top with sliced Roma tomatoes.

Pre-bake picture (too bad you can’t see the main ingredient!):

dinner_11-05-08

I baked this at 400* for 30 minutes, and then I topped it with bagged fat-free mozzarella and freshly grated parmesan. I returned it to the oven for another 23 minutes.

dinner2_11-05-08

Here’s my attempt at a cross-section view to show the eggplant on the bottom, but it’s a bad picture. Sorry!

dinner3_11-05-08

On the side, I roasted asparagus with pepper and then spread it with a mix of Smart Balance Light, soy sauce, and tarragon vinegar. I also had some of Gina’s wonderful banana bread.

dinner4_11-05-08

I gave myself a pat on the back for this recipe. ;) Baked omelette leftovers are actually very good, and this will refrigerate well.

Nutrition of this Meal

This meal contains¬†12 ingredients from the World’s Healthiest Foods list (only counting 2 for banana bread, although there may be more in there):

  • Asparagus
  • Eggplant
  • Spinach
  • Tomatoes
  • Bananas
  • Low-fat cheese
  • Eggs
  • Soybeans (soymilk)
  • Whole wheat
  • Basil
  • Oregano
  • Soy sauce

Other Eggplant Recipes

Chicken Ratatouille Pizza

Molly Huddle’s Eggplant Parmesan

Mediterranean Eggplant Boat

Eggplant Pizzas (side dish to soup)

Caponata

Baingan Bharta

Eggplant Steaks

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Wow Jess this looks great! I’m glad you’re such a fan of eggplant, I don’t know why people are so scared of it, it’s really a versatile vegetable. Thanks for the submission!

  2. This does look great. I need to work on being as creative as you are. Until then, I’ll just copy the things you make!

  3. Yummm :) I love these things, great for quickie or take along breakfasts!!

  4. I’m not kidding – that looks incredible!

  5. Looks wonderful and thanks for all the other recipes

  6. This recipe looks amazing! The banana bread looks terrific as well.

  7. [...] – See Jess Run – Veggie Baked Omelette & Chicken Ratatouille [...]


Leave a Reply

Get a free blog at WordPress.com | Theme: Pool by Borja Fernandez.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

