Food for Fuel: Stir-Fried Tofu with Bell Peppers

January 23, 2009 at 3:40 pm | Posted in Food, Nutrition, Pasta, Tofu, Vegetarian Entrees | 4 Comments

I wasn’t going to share last night’s dinner because it looks like so many of my other soba noodle creations and because it’s from a cookbook and I can’t post the recipe. However, I did a google and found it online: Mark Bittman’s Stir-Fried Tofu with Bell Peppers or Other Vegetables. Apparently Bittman included the recipe in more than one cookbook–the one I used is How to Cook Everything. I guess that’s proof that this is a good recipe.

I added shiitake mushrooms and a frozen Asian blend of veggies. I used leftover baked tofu from last week, so this was a nice, quick meal.

Served over the last of my Annie Chun’s soba noodles.

dinner_01-22-09

There are a lot of vegetables in that bowl. This recipe is not spicy, so it’s a good choice if you don’t like spicy Asian flavors.

Nutrition of this Meal

This meal contains 9 ingredients from the World’s Healthiest Foods list:

  • Bell peppers
  • Garlic
  • Mushrooms
  • Onions
  • Soybeans (edamame in frozen blend)
  • Tofu
  • Buckwheat
  • Ginger
  • Soy sauce
4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. really, i think you’re reading my mind. i was just looking through how to cook everything vegetarian for something different for the cauliflower in my fridge… and came upon a tofu stirfry. :)

  2. I’ve never had tofu stir fry but I have two blocks of tofu in my fridge so now you’ve given me a great idea! Looks delicious :)

  3. BABY CORN!

    Kelly Turner
    http://www.everygymsnightmare.com

  4. I could have stirfry every day!


Leave a Reply

Get a free blog at WordPress.com | Theme: Pool by Borja Fernandez.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

