Daily Run: Meh

January 24, 2009 at 3:37 pm | Posted in Daily Run | 4 Comments

Time of Day: 7:25 AM

Weather: Gusts of 20-30 mph brought the wind chill to 28*. Yesterday’s high: 80*

Duration: 2 hours 4 minutes 53 seconds

Distance: 16 miles

Average Pace: 7:48/mile

Average Heart Rate: I didn’t wear my HR monitor. I’ll probably just wear it for speed workouts now.

Notes: It’s a dreary day here in Central Texas, a stark contrast to the gorgeous, sunny, summer-like Friday. A cold front with a harsh wind just in time for the weekend, and just in time for my long run.

I don’t feel like I had a particularly good run today. It wasn’t bad, but I ran quite slowly. Maybe it was the weather, maybe the hills, or maybe I’m just comparing it to last weekend’s fantastic 15-miler, but I felt lacking in energy today. My legs felt fine, my knee held up well, but I felt lethargic.

Last night I went to bed ridiculously early for a Friday night and woke up before my alarm. Despite my full night’s sleep, I think my body is tired. It’s likely that my two speed workouts and cross-training on the reject elliptical tired me out for my long run.

But like I said, not a bad run. Sometimes that’s all we can ask for, right? I got my 16 miles done in a strong wind and a hilly course.

By the way, Snickers Marathon Energy bar is still my pre-long run bar of choice. I tried a Gu gel for the first time today in Chocolate Outrage. Yummy, for a gel, but I’ll have to try another Gu before I can determine if they work for me or not. My refuel method: No Sugar-Added Carnation Instant Breakfast in Chocolate, mixed with soymilk and canned pumpkin to make a Chocolate Pumpkin Smoothie. Delicious. Thanks for the idea, Lacey!

And yes, my pre, during, and post run fuel all contained chocolate.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. i bought some espresso love gu to try tomorrow. i’ll let you know how it is.

    congrats on the 16 too. at least you got it done right?

  2. Sorry the run wasn’t the best. However, I would not consider a 7:48 pace slow. That would be extremely fast for me :)
    And having chocolate 3 times before noon?? Awesome!

  3. it’s tough when you do comparisons like that, but really who doesn’t, and why wouldn’t we all??? you’re so consistent anyway, and i def have lethargic runs here and there, almost every week there is one!!! it’s always a “meh” feeling (you really captured that) and what solves it entirely is a good- hard- felt great run. which i’m positive you will have soon. YEAHHH pumpkin.

  4. great job on the run!!! and yes sometimes all we can ask for is getting the miles done. you still had an awesome run but sometimes they all just dont feel as great :)


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

