Food for Fuel: Seafood Penne with Vegetables

January 24, 2009 at 1:42 pm | Posted in Food, Nutrition, Pasta, Seafood | 2 Comments

This is my first laidback weekend since December 7th of last year. Yes, really. The next weekend was White Rock, the next three were spent in Houston, my dad visited the next, and the next one was back in Houston. So, while all those weekends were busy, they were also very fun. However, I need some Jess Time, and I need to get a few things done. I’ve made a substantial dent in my list already: last night I grocery shopped, did laundry, vacuumed, watched last week’s Desperate Housewives, and made a delicious Seafood Penne with Vegetables to fuel me for this morning’s long run (more on that later).

Remember when I said that I’m going to lower my grocery bills by using up pantry staples? No? That’s good, because I’m doing horribly. Anyway, I decided to buy frozen shrimp and canned baby clams for my pasta to combine with a few of the frozen scallops already in my freezer.

First, I started cooking my whole wheat penne. Then I heated up a little olive oil in a skillet and threw in a chopped clove of garlic, the scallops, and the shrimp. I let them cook for a bit and then added sliced mushrooms and capers.

Next, I added a dollop of my favorite jarred sauce: Central Market Organics Primavera sauce. I just used a little because I wanted to taste the other flavors in the dish–like the white wine that I added after the sauce.

I let the wine reduce slightly and then added the clams, chopped tomatoes, and a sliced up wedge of garlic and oregano flavored Laughing Cow cheese. I stirred the cheese into the sauce to make it creamy, and then added a few handfuls of baby spinach. After the baby spinach wilted, I stirred in a few sliced kalamata olives and  feta cheese.

dinner_01-23-09

It was a really good, kinda fancy (but still quick and easy) version of my favorite dinner the night before a long run or race: whole wheat pasta with a lean protein and vegetable-based sauce. (Don’t forget to add a little healthy fat like olive oil as well).

Nutrition of this Meal

This meal contains 10 ingredients on the World’s Healthiest Foods list (estimate because the jarred sauce has lots of herbs and veggies that I am not counting):

  • Garlic
  • Mushrooms
  • Olives
  • Tomatoes
  • Spinach
  • Scallops
  • Shrimp
  • Low-fat cheese (I buy reduced-fat feta, Athenos brand)
  • Olive oil
  • Whole wheat
2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. scallops, shrimp, and clams, oh my! ;)

    that would make my tastebuds happy.

  2. That looks great! I know what you mean about needing a laidback weekend. My family and friends are fun, but they exhaust me.


Leave a Reply

Get a free blog at WordPress.com | Theme: Pool by Borja Fernandez.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

