Food for Fuel: Whole Wheat Penne with Creamy Tomato Leftovers Sauce

July 12, 2008 at 1:56 am | Posted in Food, Pasta, Poultry | Leave a comment

I’m particularly proud of myself for last night’s recipe. Not because it was delicious, although it was, but because I used up the leftovers that I was sure would go bad in the fridge. 

Last week my mom was visiting, so I made one of her favorite meals: quiche with tomato soup. We didn’t eat all the quiche or all the soup. We also didn’t touch the package of chicken that I bought for other meals. So, last night I cooked a few pieces of the chicken and threw it in a skillet with frozen artichoke hearts, chopped shallot, garlic, dried basil, parsley, and the rest of the tomato that I started at lunch. Then I added some of the tomato soup (Pacific Foods Creamy Tomato), all the spinach leftover from the quiche, and a splash of white wine from an already opened bottle. I stirred in some fat free ricotta (also bought for quiche) and a handful of bagged Italian blend shredded cheese. Tossed it with the cooked penne and ATE IT ALL.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

