Food for Fuel: Homemade Pizza

July 13, 2008 at 8:44 pm | Posted in Food, Nutrition, Pizza | 11 Comments

It’s been a fairly chill weekend and I’ve had lots of time to cook, so after the earlier discussion about cheese, I decided I wanted to make pizza. Pizza is one of my favorite foods and I make it fairly often, but I experiment with toppings and my pizzas are never the same.

I start with an all-natural 100% whole wheat crust. I use this recipe but instead of prebaking the crust, I bake it raw with the toppings on it at 425*. Prebaking the crust will make it nice and crispy, if you prefer your pizza that way. I’ve also been using white whole wheat flour for half of the flour. White whole wheat flour is still 100%, but goes through a process to make it a little lighter. This recipe makes a pretty big pizza, so if I’m cooking for myself I usually separate the dough into three balls, using one and freezing the other two. However, I wanted leftovers for work tomorrow, so tonight I just separated the dough into two balls. This crust is delicious, but it is not a fluffy, doughy crust. It is thin, slightly chewy, and the pizza toppings definitely take precedence over this very healthy bread component.

My toppings tonight included the following:

  • A little brushing of olive oil
  • Garlic, rosemary, capers, and basil all chopped together
  • Fat free ricotta cheese
  • Baby spinach
  • Prosciutto
  • Red onion and shallot
  • Olives
  • Mushrooms
  • Asparagus
  • Shredded Swiss and shredded fat free mozzarella

It looks like a lot of toppings, but I was actually tempted to add more. It was my first time using a few of those ingredients on pizza (asparagus!), but it came together beautifully in one of my most flavorful combinations yet. I think it was the chopped capers and rosemary, or maybe the creamy texture added by the ricotta.

11 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] meal. So a decision must be made: pesto in pasta, on pizza, on meat, on a sandwich? Time to use the homemade pizza dough in my freezer! Unfortunately, the dough needed time to thaw and was rock hard. Fortunately, […]

  2. […] I made one of my best pizzas yet. I started with my favorite honey whole wheat crust, of course. I separated the dough into three balls and froze two of them for later […]

  3. […] Last night I made Chicken Fajita Pizza from my Best of the Pillsbury Bake-Off cookbook. It’s also on their website, so I thought I would at least point you to a very yummy recipe. I used my whole wheat pizza crust. […]

  4. […] the ratatouille (so hard to spell, by the way) was in the oven, I topped my whole wheat pizza crust (1/3 of the recipe) with fresh basil, cooked chicken breast, and chopped kalamata olives. When the […]

  5. […] recipe calls for prepared pizza dough, but I used my honey whole wheat crust. I used half the dough and stuck the rest in the freezer. This is the first time I’ve gotten […]

  6. […] started by making my whole wheat dough, which I divided into three balls, freezing two for later use. I spread the other ball onto a […]

  7. […] inspiring recipe was this one from Cooking Light. I took a ball of my homemade dough out of the freezer, let it thaw for about an hour, and then microwaved it for one minute. This […]

  8. […] Jess-fashion, I piled everything in my refrigerator onto my last ball of pizza dough (1/3 of this recipe, frozen and then thawed). I started with a very thin smear of my favorite jarred sauce, Central […]

  9. […] you’ve been reading my blog for awhile, you know that I like to make my own pizza dough from a whole wheat recipe. My usual routine is to make the dough, separate it into three […]

  10. […] It’s been much too long since I’ve made pizza. I’ve even been thawing some of my favorite dough (1/3 of linked recipe) in the fridge for over a week now because I keep thinking I’m going to […]

  11. […] moved a ball of pizza dough (1/3 of dough recipe) from my freezer to my fridge last week and didn’t end up using it until […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

