Lots of Off Days

July 15, 2008 at 9:04 pm | Posted in Life | Leave a comment

But not from running. Oh no, now I can run two, three times a day if I want.

Today my company had lay-offs and I was one of the unlucky ones. Or maybe one of the lucky ones, since I’m currently in a place in life where this is not devastating, but is instead opening up possibilities and opportunity. Or that’s how I’m choosing to see it until the water gets shut off. Or, God forbid, the internet.

Also, it’s probably a sign that you’re not in the right job when your first instinct is to be happy just to be going home early.

When I did get home; however, I immediately had to call my parents, them being 7 timezones away and all. It was appropriately pouring down with rain at the time.

I felt so much better after getting that over with that I actually had energy to begin my quest to live the American dream–sitting on my duff and collecting unemployment–so I got that registration out of the way.

I then felt the need to do something to clear my head, so I popped in my Yoga Burn DVD. It refused to play. How anti-calming. Screw you, Rodney Yee, for letting me down in my time of need!

I briefly flirted with the idea of going running again, but then decided that a relaxing walk with my Ipod would be more enjoyable in 97* heat. Also, the sun was shining again. I headed out and really did feel much better when I got back.

Since I was all sweaty anyway, I decided to mow the lawn. I got the front done, but then the lawnmower malfunctioned almost as much as the yoga DVD, and the backyard is now going to be The Boyfriend’s problem when he comes to visit this weekend. And if he doesn’t like it, too bad, I lost my job.

It’s scary when change comes this suddenly. I’m going to try to embrace it and throw myself into new projects (when I’m not job hunting, that is). One of those projects will be this blog. and thanks to some comments from readers, I’ve got some great ideas for changes. I also want to explore more about the nutritional information of the meals that I post and how the content of each aids in running. This will all be done tomorrow, because it’s been a long day already and I need some couch time pronto.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

