Because I don’t have nearly enough books…

July 16, 2008 at 6:05 pm | Posted in Literature, Nutrition, Product Review | Leave a comment

Look what I got in the mail today:

Above is the Runner’s World Complete Book of Running. I’ve flipped through the first 1/3 or so, and I must say, I don’t like it very much yet. However, I don’t want to give it an unfair review, so I’ll hold off on my opinion until I’m done with the whole thing.

But here’s a little something I found interesting: there’s a section called Buried Treasures to Boost Your Running that lists 15 surprising foods and their health benefits for runners. Some of these are actually not surprising at all; for instance, blackberries, pesto, and sweet potatoes. Some are boring, like baby lima beans and celery. One is gross (mayonnaise). However, here are a few that might make you feel just a little less guilty when you indulge:

  • Beer: A great source of chromium, good for processing carbohydrates to use as energy. Unfortunately, one 12 oz. beer is all that’s recommended.
  • Blackstrap (dark) molasses: A sweetener that provides 20% of the daily value for both iron and potassium. Can be substituted for some of the sugar in baked goods, etc.
  • McDonald’s shake: Yes, the Evil Empire has actually done something good for mankind. Accidentally, I’m sure, but their shakes are low-fat and provide 30% of the daily value for both calcium and riboflavin.
Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

