Daily Run: Easy turned Tempo

July 16, 2008 at 9:13 am | Posted in Daily Run | Leave a comment

Time of Day: 6:30 AM

Weather: Overcast, nasty humid, sprinkling intermittently

Duration: 44 minutes

Notes: Well, today is Day 1 of unemployment, but I still got up just as early to run. I’ve always gotten up early during the summer, job or not. It makes running much more comfortable and keeps me in a decent routine. Also, the baby deer are only out in the mornings and I like to look at them.

I set out to do 40 minutes easy today as a bit of a rest from running hard yesterday. I like to alternate my runs between long/short, hard/easy, etc. But! I felt AMAZING today, and my easy run turned into a tempo-paced run. I haven’t done formal speedwork in a long time and prefer to just run hard when I feel like it. I actually get very good results this way and have gotten decent race times since taking this approach.

I wanted to run longer, but decided that I was taxing my knee enough and just let myself indulge in a few extra minutes. Oddly enough, the faster I ran, the better my knee felt. Hopefully that continues throughout the rest of the day. I was going so fast at the end of my run that I decided to do a little power walk cooldown afterwards, reveling in my heavy breathing and all that I had accomplished so early in the morning.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

