Daily Run: Recovery + Strength

July 17, 2008 at 10:45 am | Posted in Daily Run, Strength Training | Leave a comment

Time of Day: 6:40 AM

Weather: Lovely!

Duration: 52 minutes

Notes: Because it’s Day 2 of unemployment, I decided to lift weights immediately after running instead of waiting until the afternoon. So, I drove over to the gym so I could run somewhere different. The gym is by a park with a packed “recreation” trail. The trail isn’t very long, but it’s flat and softer than my usual asphalt path, so I decided to go ahead and bore myself to tears on it in the name of recovery. I did 4 loops around the park at a medium, even pace. Luckily, I saw an old man get attacked by a flock of geese, so it wasn’t as boring as expected.

I actually thought that the trail’s softer surface was a little too unstable. I felt a little wobbly, and by the 4th loop my knee started to hurt. Has anyone else had an experience like this on a running trail that just isn’t “packed” enough? Does anyone actually prefer asphalt/concrete? I know it’s harder on my joints, and I’m not sure if I actually PREFER the harder surface, but I feel faster when I’m running on it than I did today.

Strength Training

It was exhausting to do this after running, but nice to get it over with. I cut down a little on the arm exercises because I think certain muscles are getting too bulky/veiny.

Here’s what I did.

2 sets of 15 reps of the following:

  • Lat pulldown
  • Lat rows
  • Chest press
  • Vertical butterfly

1 set of 15 of the following:

  • Shoulder press
  • Bicep curls
  • Tricep extensions

Also:

  • 1 set of 27 inclined sit-ups with a 6 lb. medicine ball (I also did some abs before I went running)
  • 25 reps of back extension
  • Two of my ART home therapy exercises
  • The core workout that I’m currently following. I’m currently in the Dynamic Strength phase, Week 2 of the cycle.

All in all, I worked out for about 90 minutes this morning. It seems like much less when I split it up into before work/after work.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

