Food for Fuel: High Fiber Bread

July 17, 2008 at 3:54 pm | Posted in Baked Goods, Food, Nutrition, Sandwiches, Wraps, and Burgers | Leave a comment

Yesterday I was faced with ample spare time–so I did some baking! Also, I was out of bread. I wanted something healthy for sandwiches, so I decided to try this recipe for High Fiber Bread. Yes, that’s its name. Appetizing, I know.

Actually, it was though, and I even made it before reading about the health benefits of molasses. I haven’t baked with molasses in a long, long time, and it added great flavor to this healthy bread, which was especially good toasted in a sandwich for lunch today,¬†Unfortunately, the slices aren’t very big so the sandwich had to be stacked rather high.

The recipe is for two loaves, so I cut it in half. I finally found both wheat bran and molasses by the pancake stuff in the grocery store.

Nutrition of High Fiber Bread

This recipe contains 3 ingredients from the World’s Healthiest Foods list:

  • Whole wheat (in 3 different forms)
  • Molasses
  • Milk

This recipe IS one of the foods in the Best Food for Runners list:

  • Whole grain bread
Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

