Food for Fuel: Southwestern Stuffed Bell Peppers

July 22, 2008 at 7:59 pm | Posted in Food, Nutrition, Poultry, Vegetable Side Dishes | 1 Comment

Unfortunately Geno had to go back to Houston today, so I am back to cooking for one. Of course, this is easier because I just have to please myself and don’t have to make as much food. I had a little ground turkey leftover from last week’s lasagna, so I browned that with some onions and mushrooms, cooked some brown rice, and made stuffed bell peppers using my own recipe.

The bell peppers were really small, so I used 1 yellow pepper and half an orange pepper. The stuffing consisted of:

  • Ground turkey
  • Sweet onion
  • Mushroom
  • Mexicorn (canned corn with peppers and stuff mixed in)
  • Pinto beans
  • Jalapeno
  • HEB brand Salsa Picante Medium

I halved, corded, and seeded the bell peppers, stuffed them, topped them with shredded cheddar, and baked for 20 minutes at 400* F. Very tasty and I definitely got my veggies tonight. You can obviously do lots of different combinations for the stuffing, so this is a great meal for cleaning out the fridge.

Nutrition of this Meal

This recipe contains 7 ingredients from the World’s Healthiest Foods list:

  • Bell peppers
  • Mushrooms
  • Onions
  • Tomatoes (from the salsa)
  • Pinto beans
  • Turkey
  • Brown rice

If I had used low-fat cheddar I could have made it 8 ingredients, but I only had the regular on hand.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] reading for a while, you may notice that roasting veggies and topping them with cheese, be it a bell pepper, a tomato, or an eggplant, is a slight obsession of mine. Tonight’s victim was a portabello […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

