What Not to Make from The Runner’s Cookbook

July 23, 2008 at 3:23 pm | Posted in Baked Goods, Food, From The Runner's Cookbook, Literature | 1 Comment

Last week I made Amy Hastings’ Artichoke Lasagna with great success. Today I got out The Runner’s Cookbook again because the last of the brownies left with Geno and I need to restock on baked desserts. I decided on Doris Heritage’s Rolled Oat Cookies because the recipe looked like a very interesting version of oatmeal cookies, which are my favorite (as long as they include chocolate). I found the ingredients intriguing because Heritage calls for oil, honey, and molasses, and no eggs or salt. This is a different combination of ingredients than most cookie recipes and I wanted to give it a try.

Heritage gives the baker some options, like which spices to use, type of nuts, and other mix-ins. I used the recommended cinnamon and nutmeg, almonds, dried tart cherries, and a little semi-sweet chocolate. The cookies seemed almost wholesome, so I decided to take it up a notch nutritionally and use white whole wheat flour.

The dough looked good, but tasted a little too sweet for my liking. Probably because it contained sugar, brown sugar, honey, and molasses. Too bad, since the dough is my favorite part and I could potentially eat as much as I want, since this recipe does not have raw eggs. During baking, the balls of dough spread out across the pan, turning into a sticky mess that resembled burned maple syrup. They stuck to my non-stick pan. I scraped them off into the trash. I went back over the recipe to see if I had forgotten something, but I didn’t.

They looked even worse in person. The outside edges are hard and sticky. The middles are completely raw. I’m a little angry with myself because I ate some of the middles and I’m now on a sugar high for absolutely no good reason, since this cookie dough was totally not worth it. I’m angry that I wasted the tart cherries and white whole wheat flour. I’m very relieved that I cut the recipe in half.

I hate to trash a recipe like this and I have absolutely nothing against Doris Heritage, who represented the U.S. at the Olympics in 1968 and 1972. But I would hate for someone to buy this cookbook, bake these cookies, and then decide that the entire book sucked. I’ve made some good stuff from here.

Maybe Heritage used these cookies as a sugar rush before races. Or, maybe these were her only experience with baked goods, so she just stayed away from baked goods altogether and was super skinny and awesomely fast as a result.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] Rolled Oat Cookies (Doris Heritage). If you make these and actually like them, let me know what I did incorrectly, because I’d really like to know. […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

