Daily Run: Needing Some Rain

July 24, 2008 at 10:37 am | Posted in Daily Run, Strength Training | 1 Comment

Time of Day: 6:40 AM

Weather: Very humid. Breezy. Looked like it was about to storm but didn’t.

Duration: 52 min.

Estimated Distance (based on assumed pace of 7:35/mile): 6.86 miles

Notes: I was tired when I got up this morning and for once was not looking forward to my run. This might be because I knew that I was making myself lift weights afterwards. I drove over to the gym and started my run from the parking lot. Like the rest of me, my legs felt a little sleepy. They eventually warmed up and I ran decently. Hopefully today’s flatter, softer route will wake them up for tomorrow.

It was nasty humid and I am still waiting for rain. I’m not one of those people who likes rainy days, but my lawn needs it and the air needs to be cleared out. I have a trip to the farmer’s market planned for this afternoon, so I’m hoping the rain gets out of the way early or waits until later.

Strength Training

After I ran I did 2 sets of 15 reps of the following arm exercises (similar to what I always do):

  • Lat pulldown
  • Lat row
  • Should press
  • Vertical butterfly
  • Chest press
  • Bicep curls
  • Tricep dips/extensions

I also did:

  • 28 inclined sit-ups holding a 6 lb. medicine ball
  • 25 back extensions
  • My ART home therapy exercises (Spoiler alert! Will show you these when I figure out how to do video!)
  • The core workout that I’m doing, which I have linked in the side bar. I’m in the Dynamic Phase Week 3

I felt like a machine in the weight room, but this long workout definitely caught up to me by the time I got to the Turkish Get-Ups in my core workout. I weighed myself when I was done and I definitely need to guzzle some water today because running + weights + high humidity = incredible sweat loss. I was starving by the time I got home.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] 2008 at 1:16 pm | In General Health, Literature, Nutrition | Tags: Books, Question Today I had a long workout and breakfast was later than usual. My run ended around 7:30 AM, but then I stretched, lifted […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

