Food for Fuel: Skip This If You Hate Tomatoes

July 25, 2008 at 9:09 am | Posted in Food, Nutrition, Pasta, Vegetable Side Dishes | 5 Comments

Yesterday I went to a local farmer’s market for the first time. I was hoping that it would provide me with cute photos of a picturesque small town, but it was located between a construction site and the county jail, so…not so much. It was also smaller than I expected, but in addition to the expected vegetables, they had fresh bread and meat. Next time I will probably get that as well, but I stuck to veggies this time.

I had to stand in line for those tomatoes, so I got more than I can eat myself and some will be gifts for Geno’s family. Also, I decided that one of them needed to make an appearance with dinner as a fancy sidedish since I boringly heated up leftover lasagna from the freezer for my entree.

And so we have…

Baked Tomato

I cut one of the smaller tomatoes in half and brushed it with a little olive oil. I topped each half with fresh basil, dried oregano, shredded fat free mozzarella, and parmesan. I baked them for 15 minutes at 450* F.

I served them over a spinach and arugula salad with mushrooms, a little red onion, and the rest of a Roma tomato that I needed to use up. I bought some jarred garlic-stuffed olives the other day and cut up three of these and used a little juice from the jar and balsamic vinegar for dressing.

This is a very lycopene-heavy meal! Cheese-heavy as well, yum. I didn’t eat any vegetables for lunch, so I made sure to get a lot at dinner. I’ll be off the hook with cooking for the weekend, since I will be at Geno’s parents’ house. I will not, however, be off the hook for eating their delicious food.

Nutrition of this meal

This meal contains 11 ingredients from the World’s Healthiest Foods list:

  • The 8 ingredients from the lasagna.
  • Olives
  • Spinach
  • Mushrooms
5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I would love that..hmm. My wife on the other hand hates tomatoes and mushrooms. Yeah, I know, how weird. She also likes cauliflower. YUCK!

  2. I LOVE LOVE LOVE tomatoes, in all their forms. Anyway, its funny you mention incorporating longer runs on the weekend, thats when I’ve been doing mine as well. Though, my longer runs are only about 7 miles right now. I’m still working my mileage back up after cutting back to gain some weight for the past few months. But I digress… mostly just wanted to tell you that I nominated you for an award…so check out my blog when you get a chance. I usually don’t do this stuff, but for some reason today I figures, hey why not?

  3. Yum! I just linked to your blog and love it. You’ve inspired me to see how many of the “world’s healthiest foods” I can get into my dinner tonight!

  4. http://www.fitnrg.com is a calorie counting website that lets you track your workouts, activities, diet and weight, and has a large community of fitness minded members.

  5. […] a while, you may notice that roasting veggies and topping them with cheese, be it a bell pepper, a tomato, or an eggplant, is a slight obsession of mine. Tonight’s victim was a portabello mushroom, […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

