The Run Routine

July 27, 2008 at 5:12 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 7 Comments

When I’m on my regular (preferred!) schedule, running is the first thing I do each day. However, it takes me about 30 minutes between getting out of bed and heading out the door because I do so many other things before this “first thing.”

Confused yet? Here’s what happens:

  • I usually wake up before my alarm goes off and pop right out of bed (yes, odd).
  • I use the bathroom; put in contacts; get dressed; hair in ponytail.
  • Let the cat in and feed him.
  • Drink huge glass of water; take vitamin.
  • Turn on CNN and do ab exercises.
  • Let meowing cat back outside.
  • Roll out my legs.
  • Do some conventional stretching.
  • Finally leave.

Seems like a lot when I type it all out in bullet form.

When I get back the routine continues:

  • Conventional stretching; meowing cat comes back inside with me and USES THE LITTERBOX EVEN THOUGH HE WAS JUST OUTSIDE.
  • Big glass of water often with one naproxin to kill any inflammation because I’m paranoid now.
  • Roll out legs. Cat meows and flops next to me…meowing.
  • Shower
  • Ice problem knee

When it’s all said and done, running takes a good chunk of the morning. Do you have a pre-run/post-run routine?

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I definitely do! (Thankfully, my routine is sans meowing cat.)

    -Drink my body weight in water all day at work.
    -Sprint to my car at 5 PM to beat all the other commuters to the garage.
    -Change out of slacks in car, hoping to avoid any odd stares.
    -Slather on tons of sunscreen.
    -Put on bright yellow id wristband in case I get hit by a car/mugged/raped on my run.
    -Run through just about every red light on Lavaca from 8th St. all the way to 1st. 😀

  2. Hi! Just found your blog. I have identical issues. I ran my first 1/2 marathon in May (Fort Collins, CO)– and took it easy for about 2 weeks after. My first run back felt great (6mi) but starting that night and for the next 2 weeks I had intense knee pain. No explanation, no trauma, just pain. Mostly when bending, and definitely couldn’t run. I tried to a couple of times and then just decided to take some time off to see if it would go away. Talked to my trainer from college (I played bball– turned into a runner when I graduated). I would seriously cry about it b/c even sitting + walking I could feel it and I had been running more than ever. MIRACULOUSLY, I took a trip with my boyfriend to visit his brothers in NYC and one of their wives is a massage therapist/alternative medicine-ish person. She gave me a leg massage and it was THE MOST PAINFUL thing ever– she focused on my calves. Did a little hamstring/quad, but mostly calves. Anyway, starting the next day I was fine. No pain. No problems. I don’t understand, but it must be similar!!!! So after that really long-winded commentary :)… I am SUPER interested in preventing this ever again. I definitely stretch more now, but my calves and hammies are just REALLY tight!!!!!!!!! Where did you get the rollers? And what are the home exercises you do??? Thanks SO much!!!!!

  3. Awww, thanks for recognizing my blog! Now if only you could also bestow the power on me to run as fast as you do!

    It sounds like my pre and post-run routine is dramatically simplified by not having a meowing kitty. I will remind myself of this every time I think, “awww, I want a cat!”

  4. – wake up
    – go potty, put in contacts (AFTER washing hands)
    -stretch for 3-5 min

    Total time:
    8 min

  5. I am not used to run in the morning, I prefer run in the evening. I only have my snack afternoon at least 1 hour before running. I am trying to run in the morning but I can go without food. Do you only drink water and vitamin? I wrote about it in my blog.
    I hope someday I can run as fast as you do! And I love to read your blog!

  6. Evan: Teach me.

    sgreyce: It’s perfectly fine if you need food before running. I don’t like to take the time to eat before I run (as you can see, the routine is long enough). Also, I haven’t really noticed a difference in my energy levels when I eat before, so I don’t bother. Sometimes I will eat before a very long run. I find that running suppresses my appetite, so I’m never hungry while I’m running or immediately after. Usually starving after about 30 minutes though 🙂

    Lacy: That does sound a lot like my situation. I finally went to an Active Release Technique practitioner, which is probably similar to the chiropractic massage that you received, but slightly different. Here’s a link to help you find a provider near you: http://www.activerelease.com/
    I use the Trigger Point Total Body Package for rolling out my legs. I got it at my ART doctor’s office and it is expensive, but worth it in my opinion. It’s #6 in this list: http://www.tptherapy.com/products.php
    The home exercises are for strengthening the muscles around my knee. They are difficult to describe, but I think I will do a blog post on them in the next few days, so check back! I hope this helps. I know how frustrating this can be, so please don’t hesitate to ask more questions.

  7. thank you!!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

