Food for Fuel: Houston Highlights

July 28, 2008 at 9:57 pm | Posted in Baked Goods, Food, Poultry, Restaurants, Seafood, Vegetable Side Dishes | 1 Comment

Well, I cooked nothing this weekend, but I ate fantastically. Geno’s parents are both fantastic cooks and I love visiting them. They typically make very large portions of food with lots of side dishes. A lot of these side dishes are vegetable-based and prove once again how tasty veggies can be. I won’t be counting the World’s Healthiest Foods ingredients for these because that would make this post obnoxiously long and I don’t know all the ingredients in these meals anyway. 

Friday Dinner: Red Snapper; beans; stewed okra and tomatoes; seasoned rice w/mushrooms; onion rings

Saturday Lunch: Geno and I met our friend, Evan, at Cafe Express. It was great–definitely my kind of restaurant. I got the Shrimp and Avocado Salad.

Saturday Dinner: Chicken parmesan; Fettuccine Alfredo; leftover okra and tomatoes

Sunday Breakfast: Blueberry pancake topped with part of a smashed banana; strawberries; cantaloupe; and homemade applesauce. I had an identical one for breakfast on Saturday. Geno’s dad is quite possibly the best pancake-flipper ever. He can flip pancakes literally twice this size (like Geno’s pancake).

Sunday Dinner: Roasted chicken; eggplant dish; twice-baked potato (quite possibly the best I’ve had); beans and stewed tomatoes; green beans and carrots.

Sunday Dessert: Chocolate Sour Cream Cake, made even sweeter by my Simpsons Monopoly Victory. The frosting is amazing. I don’t dare ask for the recipe out of fear that I might make an entire vat and eat it with a spoon until sugar crystals form in my stomach and fill my entire body until I burst in a spray of sugary shards and cocoa.

The dinner I made tonight wasn’t nearly as interesting as the meals above, but Geno “made me” take home some cake, currently pending consumption. So…all done blogging for tonight 😉

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Wow, those look like restaurant meals!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

