Food for Fun: Banana Oatmeal Cookies

July 29, 2008 at 8:54 pm | Posted in Baked Goods, Food | 9 Comments

Once upon a time, a wholesome yet delicious loaf of banana bread met a spicy little oatmeal chocolate chip cookie. At first they were both a little wary of their differences, but then they realized the potential compatibility of banana, oatmeal, and chocolate and pursued a relationship anyway. They wined, dined, danced, and eventually married. Their friends and family were apprehensive: what would the offspring of a bread and a cookie look and taste like? The answer: pure heaven.

I can’t for the life of me figure out where I found this recipe for Banana Oatmeal Cookies. Don’t kill me for not posting it. I’ll email it to you if you really, really need it. And you will. I’ve been hanging onto it for a while now–ever since I found it and said, “Banana Oatmeal Cookies!? Genius!” But, it isn’t often that even a single banana gets overripe enough for baking in this house, let alone three. So the recipe remained untested until I came home from Houston and saw that my sister had left exactly three bananas overripe and uneaten in the fruit basket. And I would never let my favorite fruit go to waste 😉

Usually I make half batches of cookies, unless I have lots of people around to pawn them off. This recipe called for three bananas, which is what I had, so I made a whole batch. I baked up one sheet of them and threw the rest of the dough in the freezer for another day.

The dough was the best part and I will probably start to feel sick soon because I could not keep my fingers out of it.

Not the best picture, but I think it at least shows their lovely consistency.

Nutrition of this Recipe

Ok, I’m not going to pretend that these are healthy, so I’m not going to list the ingredients from the World’s Healthiest Foods list. However, they actually have 6, which is pretty darn impressive for a cookie. So, I’m going to let you guess the ingredients on the list! Isn’t that fun!? Ready….go!

9 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Banana, oatmeal, egg, sugar, lard, special Scac pixie dust.

    Six delicious, delicious ingredients.

  2. Could you mail me a dozen of those?

  3. Hi Jess, I think your blog is great! My question is: how long does your entire run (including before-and-after routines) take on an average day (say, a 55 minute run for example)? I ask b/c I am also a runner, only done 10K so far but considering training for a half-marathon, and my job requires me to be at work by 8 AM every day… and it takes me almost 45 minutes to get there! I don’t mind running first thing in the morning, but I’m not loving the idea of getting up before 5 AM. I also live in a hot/humid (at least in the summer) place, so the AM is really the most comfortable time for me to be outside. Anyway, keep up the great work, and I’ll keep reading!

  4. Cat0627: I don’t have good news for you here…my run + routine takes me forever! I am also worried about starting my new commute on Monday and fitting everything in in the morning. It takes me about 2.5 hours from getting up in the morning to being ready to leave the house, so that’s pre-run routine, run, post-run routine, shower, hair, breakfast, etc.

    Jameson, you got 3 ingredients correct. Scac pixie dust, while probably the best ingredient of all, is not widely available and therefore does not meet the criteria of the WHF list.

  5. Oh, you are a bad, bad influence. The cookie dough is calling. And the fun game is giving it a moderately healthful disguise, ha ha. I’m guessing:

    bananas, oatmeal, cinnamon, whole wheat flour, eggs, and ummmmm walnuts? (shouldn’t chocolate be a whfood, don’tcha think?)

  6. tfh: You are so close! No nuts in these cookies though. Only half the flour is whole wheat (it’s white whole wheat, which is great for cookies), but hey, still an ingredient.

  7. Please send me the recipe! They sound delicious and are 2 of my FAV foods ever.
    Thank you.

  8. Just happened to run across this and when you mentioned you didn’t know where you got the recipe, I thought of these:
    http://bakingbites.com/2006/05/banana-oatmeal-cookies/
    I’ve made these once and they were REALLY good. I’ve been wanting to make them again.

  9. […] as body wash, perfume, air freshener, laundry detergent…I think I like them even better than the last banana cookies I made, which is saying a […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

