Food for Fuel: Couscous Salad with Tuna

July 30, 2008 at 8:58 pm | Posted in Food, Nutrition, Product Review, Rice, Quinoa, and Other Grains, Seafood | 3 Comments

My dinners have not been very exciting lately because I’ve been trying to use up what I already have in the kitchen before I buy more groceries. This is unfortunate, because I’ve had lots of time to cook and could be making elaborate meals. I did get to try a new recipe tonight, but it was extremely quick and easy, which is a big reason why I’m posting it here. Tonight’s dinner was loosely based on this recipe, but instead of using chicken, I used a Bumble Bee Seasoned Tuna Medley from my pantry.

This is the Sundried Tomato and Basil flavor, which I thought would complement this recipe perfectly. These tuna packets also come in a spicy Thai flavor and a lemon pepper flavor. The spicy Thai is my favorite of the three.

You can do this entire recipe in the microwave, but I cooked the couscous on the stove and then mixed everything in. I used Hodgson Mill Whole Wheat Couscous and added mushrooms. I eyeballed most of the measurements, so nothing is exactly like the original recipe.

This was good, but I think it would have been better if I had used chicken instead of the tuna. I think the seasonings in the tuna mix overwhelmed the rest of the ingredients.

Nutrition of this Meal

This meal contains 8 ingredients from the World’s Healthiest Foods list:

  • Garlic
  • Mushrooms
  • Tomatoes
  • Tuna
  • Low-fat cheese
  • Olive oil
  • Whole wheat
  • Basil
3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Looks good! I haven’t tried those tuna medleys– maybe I’ll grab the Spicy Thai next time I’m at the store if you think it’s the best.

  2. thanks for trying that for me.

    Im in now.

    hadnt had the ‘nerve’ to try it before for fear it was….heinous (for lack of a better work)
    messed with tuna can be FAB or FUNKY.

  3. MizFit, I understand. I had a bad situation with a Kipper snack the other night (herring in a can)


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

