Daily Run: Recovery and Preparation

August 1, 2008 at 9:02 am | Posted in Daily Run | Leave a comment

Time of Day: 6:30 AM

Weather: Pretty. Still humid but not nearly as bad as yesterday.

Duration: 41 min.

Estimated Distance (based on assumed pace of 7:35/mile): 5.41 miles

Notes: I’m planning on a long run tomorrow, so I did a shorter, relaxed run today to prepare and to help my body recover from yesterday’s long workout. I didn’t run much slower than usual, but I did rein it in a bit and did not allow myself to run hard up the hills on the way home like I often do.

While I feel that it is important to take at least one day off a week (for most people), I think that slower recovery runs do almost as much for my legs. I think a lot of people feel that they need to go hard and fast every time they run. If you’re only running 3 times a week, this is entirely possible, but for those of us who run more, try going on a few runs and not letting yourself go faster than a certain pace. You may find that this helps you do your harder runs at a faster pace, thus allowing you to reap the benefits of speedwork.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

