Food for Fuel: Cheese and Veggie Stacked Sandwich

August 1, 2008 at 9:43 pm | Posted in Food, Nutrition, Poultry, Product Review, Sandwiches, Wraps, and Burgers, Vegetarian Entrees | 1 Comment

I went to World Market last week and got sucked in by their display of sample-sized food. I decided on this Wisconsin Classic bleu cheese, which came in a little box with two individually wrapped servings of spreadable cheese.

Today for lunch I was craving a cheesy, grilled sandwich, remembered that I bought this last week, and decided to break it out. I used an Orowheat 100% whole wheat premium bun and the following sandwich fillings:

  • 1 serving of Wisconsin bleu
  • 1 slice of turkey (added for protein and to make the sandwich more filling, but just 1 slice because I wanted the cheese and veggies to be the dominate flavors)
  • Red bell pepper
  • Onion
  • Baby spinach
  • Boar’s Head Swiss cheese

I stacked the above toppings on the bun and put it in the oven at 450* until the cheese melted (just a few minutes). Then I added:

  • Cucumber
  • Romaine lettuce blend

Looks huge up close, doesn’t it? It was pretty tall. This was my first time buying the Orowheat buns and it was fantastic. I had a nice, juicy peach on the side.

Nutrition of this Meal

This sandwich contains 7 ingredients from the World’s Healthiest Foods list:

  • Bell pepper
  • Cucumber
  • Onion
  • Spinach
  • Romaine
  • Turkey
  • Whole wheat

I don’t think either kind of cheese used was low-fat, so they do not qualify on the WHF list.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] Super Target had smoked salmon on sale last time I went. I also used the rest of my Wisconsin blue cheese, a little onion, tomato, basil, mixed greens, and baby spinach. It was delicious. I love that […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

