Food for Fuel: Kara and Adam Goucher’s Veggie and Chicken Stir Fry

August 3, 2008 at 9:53 pm | Posted in Food, From The Runner's Cookbook, Literature, Nutrition, Poultry, Rice, Quinoa, and Other Grains | 3 Comments

Two blog-worthy meals in one day! Lucky me!

The Olympics start on Friday and I’m getting excited. Quite a few of our U.S. distance running representatives contributed recipes to The Runner’s Cookbook, so in their honor I’ve decided to try to cook most of them by the end of this month. Some of them look a little iffy, so we’ll see. Tonight, I made Kara and Adam Goucher’s Veggie and Chicken Stir Fry. Studly Kara will be representing the U.S. in both the 10k and the 5k. Apparently, she can also cook–this recipe was delicious, easy, and extremely healthy.

The Goucher’s use both brown rice and stir fry noodles. I stuck with just brown rice. Sorry about not including the recipe (copyright).

Nutrition of this Meal

This recipe contains 10 ingredients from the World’s Healthiest Foods list:

  • Bell peppers
  • Broccoli
  • Carrot
  • Garlic
  • Mushrooms
  • Onion
  • Brown rice
  • Sesame seeds
  • Peanuts (in the form of peanut oil)
  • Chicken
3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. i wish I were working toward a culinary degree. Maybe after I get my undergrad from Washington University. I’m a sophomore, but as of yet, I haven’t declared a major…Anyway…
    I started yoga by taking a class at the campus gym. I loved it, but only because I found an instructor who really kept the class moving. It was meditative and relaxing, but I was also sore the next day. Plus, the class was a little over an hour long which made it feel more like a real work out. In the summer I just practice short 20-30 minute yoga sessions on my own to supplement my running. I would definitely recommend getting into a routine by taking a class, and then once you’ve mastered a few asanas, try it on your own for a while.
    But, I’m no yoga expert so do what works for you
    p.s. power yoga = yoga + pilates and will definietly fell like a work out!

  2. Hmm, this cookbook looks worth checking it! By the way, I just saw your post about the Runner’s World Complete Book of Running…I have to agree with you, I didn’t like it much. Some of it seemed pretty outdated (um, the photos? but also some of the advice) or written in a very simple fashion.

  3. […] Veggie and Chicken Stir Fry (Kara and Adam Goucher) […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

