Food for Fuel: Mimi’s Cafe

August 3, 2008 at 9:38 pm | Posted in Food, Nutrition, Restaurants | 1 Comment

Mimi’s Cafe is a chain restaurant, which I usually shy away from because they tend to bore me and use frozen stuff. However, I’ve never tried it before and have been driving by it a lot lately, so my sister and I gave it a shot. The server immediately told us that all food is made fresh on the premises, which was very encouraging. The menu was huge and I had a difficult time deciding.

Unfortunately, I think I could have made a better decision. I got the Orange Roughy with Avocado and Artichoke Salsa. Sounds great, right? It was, but the potato sidedish had way too much butter, which got all over everything and interfered with the salsa flavor. I’m posting this anyway because it was still pretty good, despite the pool of butter. I want to go back to Mimi’s and try one of their delicious-looking sandwiches.

The unpictured side salad was impressive, as was the fresh bread. I couldn’t finish the entire meal.

Nutrition of this Meal

Like with all restaurants meals, I have to guess a little on ingredients. I’m also not going to count the veggies in the side salad because I really don’t remember all of them. This meal contains at least 5 ingredients from the World’s Healthiest Foods list:

  • Avocado
  • Broccoli
  • Carrots
  • Potatoes
  • Tomatoes or bell peppers

Probably also garlic and olive oil, but it’s hard to tell.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Oh man, don’t waste a trip to Mimi’s on lunch or dinner. Breakfast is their specialty. One bite of one of their breakfasts and you’ll never be able to set foot in a Cracker Barrel ever again. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

