Food for Fuel: Two New Recipes and a Delicious New Grain

August 4, 2008 at 8:37 pm | Posted in Food, From The Runner's Cookbook, Literature, Nutrition, Rice, Quinoa, and Other Grains, Seafood, Vegetable Side Dishes | 1 Comment

Wow, did I have a great meal tonight. For the entree, I used another recipe from The Runner’s Cookbook: Mary Cullen’s Salmon Fillets Steamed in Orange and Honey. Cullen is not going to the Olympics, but I had already picked out this recipe and bought the salmon when I decided to prioritize the Olympic competitor’s recipes. Cullen ran for Providence College, won the 2006 NCAA 5k title, and now runs professionally. Her recipe calls for blossom honey. I don’t know what that is, but I used a fabulous apricot honey from Germany, mixed with regular honey.

On the side, I tried Eggplant Steaks, a recipe from my favorite veggie-loving website. They were delicious. For the steak sauce, I used a Mrs. Dash 10-Minute Marinade that I found in the fridge. I used an Italian blend of cheeses from a bag.

I also made quinoa, this time of the Incan Red variety, which I have never tried. I added chopped onion, zucchini, mushrooms, and a pepper from the farmer’s market to the pot while it was cooking.

The tricky part of a meal like this is the timing of the oven. The salmon needed to cook at 400* and the eggplant needed broiling. So, I made the salmon first, undercooking it slightly. Then I heated set the oven to broil and cooked the eggplant, popping the salmon back in for the last few minutes. You have to keep a close eye with this method, but it worked great (this time).

Nutrition of this Meal

This meal contains 7 ingredients from the World’s Healthiest Foods list:

  • Eggplant
  • Mushroom
  • Onion
  • Salmon
  • Orange
  • Quinoa
  • Honey
1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I love that Incan red quinoa. Well, I don’t notice the taste difference, but it just looks so pretty.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

