Food for Fuel: Craving Indian

August 6, 2008 at 7:54 pm | Posted in Food, Nutrition, Other, Poultry, Product Review, Vegetable Side Dishes, Vegetarian Entrees | 2 Comments

I wrote this post yesterday, but WordPress was being all screwy with the images. Anyway, they work now, so…

I was craving Indian food for dinner, probably because I knew I had a fun little Indian food product to try. A few weeks ago I bought 3 Tasty Bite Indian sauce mixes from World Market, and last night I decided to try the Spinach Dal.

It was ok. Certainly no Tandoor Chef. It is, however, super easy: you can microwave or put the inner packet into boiling water for 5 minutes. I chose the water method. You can serve it over brown rice, as a side dish, or dip Tandoor Chef Naan in it (which is what I did).

The above was definitely not the highlight of my meal. Because I had a good experience with it on Monday, I wanted to eat eggplant again. I went to the trusy Allrecipes website and searched their Indian cuisine section for “eggplant.” I decided on the Baingan Bharta. It was great! I made half the recipe (two servings), used ground cumin instead of cumin seeds (didn’t have any), ground ginger + chopped garlic instead of ginger garlic paste (didn’t have any), and omitted the cilantro (didn’t have any). I also added some Hormel pre-cooked chicken breast at the end of cooking. Two servings turned out to be quite a bit and I had leftovers for work today, mixed with leftovers of the Spinach Dal.

 

Nutrition of this Meal

This recipe contains 8 ingredients from the World’s Healthiest Foods list:

  • Spinach
  • Lentils
  • Chicken
  • Eggplant
  • Onion
  • Yogurt
  • Cumin
  • Ginger
2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] to use up the rest of an eggplant, so I decided to make Baingan Bharta, and eggplant curry that I’ve made before and really wanted to eat again. I made half the recipe, but this time I made it a little […]

  2. […] Baingan Bharta […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

