Food for Fuel: Pesto Pasta Primavera with Shrimp

August 6, 2008 at 8:26 pm | Posted in Food, Nutrition, Pasta, Seafood | 2 Comments

Pasta with a prepared sauce and added veggies and protein is one of my go-to quick meals. Usually the prepared sauce is a jarred red sauce, but lucky me! I got to use my leftover pesto. However, I wanted to try some changes: I chopped up a clove of garlic and threw it in a skillet with shrimp, and then added the following chopped veggies:

  • Asparagus
  • Zucchini
  • Red bell pepper
  • Mushrooms

I left everything cook for a bit, then added capers and white wine. After the wine simmered down, I added some crushed red pepper flakes for spice, then the pesto to warm it up. Last, I added a few olives, feta cheese, and sliced fresh basil until everything was just combined. I served it over whole wheat linguine and spaghetti squash.

The wine and crushed red pepper were amazing additions to the pesto and this was delicious. I think the pesto flavor became stronger after allowing all the ingredients to mesh for a while.

Nutrition of this Meal

This recipe contains 10 ingredients from the World’s Healthiest Foods list:

  • Asparagus
  • Bell peppers
  • Mushrooms
  • Garlic
  • Olives
  • Shrimp
  • Low-fat cheese
  • Olive oil
  • Whole wheat
  • Basil
2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Looks delish!!!

  2. […] – Food for Fuel: Pesto Pasta Primavera with Shrimp saved by bloglinesrtyu2008-10-25 – Pasta please saved by rich2008-10-23 – faldo; captain not very […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

