Food for Fuel: Jen Rhines’ Enchilada Casserole

August 10, 2008 at 3:30 pm | Posted in Beef, Food, From The Runner's Cookbook, Literature, Nutrition, Other | Leave a comment

Geno came to visit this weekend, we had some great Chinese takeout for the Olympic ceremonies and some wonderful Indian food last night. I stupidly did not take pictures of either of those meals. I am a bad, bad blogger this weekend.

However, I did make us dinner on Thursday night and utilized a recipe from on Olympic competitor, as promised. I made Jen Rhines’ Enchilada Casserole from The Runner’s Cookbook. Rhines is representing the U.S. in the 5,000 meters. She also ran the 10,000 m. in the 2000 Olympics and the marathon in the 2004 Olympics. So, she’s pretty freaking fast and versatile.

This recipe was simple, healthy, yummy…and huge. I’ll be freezing some leftovers for sure. I used Smart Choice whole wheat tortillas, reduced fat cheese, and extra lean ground beef to make it even healthier. The original recipe calls for black beans, but I used pinto because Geno prefers them. This is a good dish to satisfy a Tex-Mex craving without clogging every artery in your body.

I put my serving on top of my salad.

Nutrition of this Recipe

I’m not counting the ingredients from my salad, just the Enchilada Casserole. This recipe contains 6 ingredients from the World’s Healthiest Foods list:

  • Onion
  • Cumin
  • Pinto beans
  • Tomatoes (in sauce form)
  • Whole wheat
  • Low-fat cheese

Interestingly, lean beef is on the WHF list, but only if it is organic. I did not use organic.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

