Food for Fuel: Deena Kastor’s Pumpkin Lasagna

August 11, 2008 at 8:02 pm | Posted in Food, From The Runner's Cookbook, Literature, Nutrition, Pasta, Vegetarian Entrees | 5 Comments

Deena Kastor holds the women’s American record in the marathon, won the bronze medal in Athens, and is, of course, representing the U.S. in the marathon in Beijing. Tonight I made her Pumpkin Lasagna from The Runner’s Cookbook. I’m sure all the vitamin B will make me just as fast.

I must admit, I was a little skeptical of this recipe. Not so much the recipe itself, but the ways I changed it: scaling it down to feed just me and omitting a few steps out of laziness. Also, I only had two lasagna noodles (cut in half to make 4) and had to fill the rest in with spaghetti squash. The concoction looked a little gross when I was layering it in the pan and I started to think up backup meals in case it was inedible. No need though; turned out great!

The above picture is in an 8×8 cake pan. Here it is cut up with some roasted asparagus and onions.

Nutrition of this Meal

Including side veggies, this meal contains 8 ingredients from the World’s Healthiest Foods list:

  • Asparagus
  • Onion
  • Winter squash (canned pumpkin)
  • Garlic
  • Sage
  • Whole wheat (whole wheat lasagna noodles)
  • Soybeans (I used soymilk instead of milk)
  • Low-fat cheese
5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’m ordering the cookbook now!

    The recipes you’ve made so far just look so good…

    (And I can’t wait for the women’s marathon! Seeing Deena Kastor’s name just psychs me up even more.)

  2. YUM!

    Hey I have a question….. I usually rest a day or two out of the week from running. Would you recommend keeping that rest day constant like always on Wednesday or does it really matter?

  3. tfh: I’ve got some more coming for you 😉 And yes, super excited about the marathon, especially now that Paula Radcliffe is officially running.

    Amanda K: I’ve been keeping my off day on Monday, but if I needed the flexibility I would move it around. I think you should take at least one day off per week and definitely don’t go more than 10 days without a day off. So, if I were to take Monday off but needed to switch my off day the next week, I would make sure to do it no later than Thursday.

  4. […] already know that Deena Kastor can cook, so why not try one of her other recipes as you cheer her on Saturday evening? Although really, I […]

  5. […] is it with Olympic marathoners and pumpkin? It only contains about 8,000,000% of your daily Vitamin A. It’s only packed with […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

