Food for Fun: Shannon Rowbury’s Nutty Chocolate Chip Ice Cream Sandwiches

August 12, 2008 at 7:54 pm | Posted in Baked Goods, Food, From The Runner's Cookbook, Literature | 1 Comment

Holy Delicious!

But first, let me give Shannon Rowbury her credit. Rowbury won the 2008 USA Indoor 3,000m title and is representing the U.S. in the 1500m in the 2008 Olympics. She came in 1st in the Trials and is a medal hopeful.

More importanly, she has a very good dessert recipe. Her Nutty Chocolate Chip Ice Cream Sandwiches are, of course, from The Runner’s Cookbook. I made these Sunday evening, had my first one (and only, the others were already consumed) last night, and am wishing I had another right now.

The blurry picture does this recipe absolutely no justice. I omitted the coconut (because I hate it), and used only 3/4 of the walnuts because I ran out. Still delicious. Rowbury includes special baking instructions for making the cookies dense and chewy, and her method worked perfectly for sandwich cookies. I used Stonyfield Farm Nonfat Frozen Yogurt.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I totally used to make those in the Commons with the soft serve ice cream machine and those hardtack cookies. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

