Food for Fuel: Flanagan/Edwards Fajitas

August 13, 2008 at 8:58 pm | Posted in Beef, Food, From The Runner's Cookbook, Literature, Nutrition, Poultry, Sandwiches, Wraps, and Burgers | 6 Comments

Another winner from The Runner’s Cookbook. I may be renaming these Knife and Fork Fajitas, because that’s how I had to eat them. Actually, it was Fork and Hand Fajitas, because hey, I was dining alone.

Shalane Flanagan will be competing in both the 10,000m and 5,000m at the 2008 Olympics. She won the 10k at the Olympic Trials. I believe she holds the American record in both events. Her husband, Steve Edwards, is a former UNC runner.

My dinner was delicious and simple. There is really nothing flashy about this fajita recipe (honestly, I think most people already know how to make fajitas), but Flanagan has some good ideas for fajita filling, as well as a simple way to make guacamole. I made these with both chicken and beef and made tons of extra veggies, because Fajita Salad (fajita filling on top of lettuce) is one of my favorite leftover meals to take to work. I added zucchini and mushrooms to Flanagan’s suggestions, and added serrano peppers and salsa to the guacamole. I used Smart and Delicious whole wheat tortillas.

I took this picture before covering my fajitas in lettuce. I wonder if Flanagan has a problem with overstuffing her fajitas full of every possible topping, like I do. My tortillas fell apart. Still delicious.

Nutrition of this Meal

This meal contains 13 (wow, no wonder she’s fast) ingredients from the World’s Healthiest Foods list:

  • Avocado
  • Bell peppers
  • Onion
  • Mushrooms
  • Tomatoes
  • Romaine lettuce
  • Chicken
  • Low-fat cheese
  • Garlic
  • Olive oil
  • Whole wheat
  • Black beans
  • Cumin

Had I used organic beef, I would have had 14 WHF ingredients. Notice how any meal with a variety of vegetables has a high score?

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Jess I love your blog! Thanks for all the advice! Those fajitas look soooo good! even at 6 in the morning, haha. I’m so making this tonight!

  2. I definitely always pile my fajitas with so much lettuce or baby spinach that it ends up being a fork-and-hand meal! Yum– just makes the goodness last longer, right?

  3. Your blog inspires me to get off the couch and cook dinner. Seriously. I was honestly considering cereal for breakfast until 10 seconds ago.

  4. And by breakfast, I mean dinner. Duh.

  5. Thanks everyone! I’m glad the fajitas got such a great response. They don’t take very long, especially if you don’t bother going veggie-crazy like me.

    Random note: Tex-Mex can be so good for you…when you cook it at home. Why do restaurants have to turn it into a heart attack on a plate?

  6. […] I was able to get more than a teaspoon of stuffing into each grape leaf, but they need to be closed tightly, so you don’t want to overstuff (a problem that I have with fajitas). […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

