Food for Fuel: Omega Orgy

August 15, 2008 at 10:01 pm | Posted in Food, Nutrition, Rice, Quinoa, and Other Grains, Sandwiches, Wraps, and Burgers, Seafood | 2 Comments

Because I totally ripped you guys off by forgetting my camera last night, I’m going to show you both my lunch and dinner. I know, you’re so lucky.

Lunch

Riddled with guilt, I took a picture of my sandwich last night (I make lunch the night before so that I don’t have to rush in the morning before work). After all, I needed to showcase the wonderful bread that I bought at Mandola’s last night.

Awesomely, Super Target had smoked salmon on sale last time I went. I also used the rest of my Wisconsin blue cheese, a little onion, tomato, basil, mixed greens, and baby spinach. It was delicious. I love that cheese and the bread was soft and tasty. I’m so not fooled into thinking that it’s 100% whole wheat.

Another picture so you can see the bread. I’m so nice.

Nutrition of this Sandwich

This sandwich contains 7 ingredients on the World’s Healthiest Foods list:

  • Whole wheat (maybe)
  • Salmon
  • Basil
  • Onion
  • Tomato
  • Romaine lettuce
  • Spinach

Dinner

No recipe from The Runner’s Cookbook tonight, and I feel a little bad since it’s the first day of track and all. However, I really wanted to use the rest of my Caponata, and decided it would go well with one of the tuna steaks in my freezer. On the side, I made Incan red quinoa with diced zucchini, shallot, and crushed red pepper flakes. I also roasted asparagus with the rest of the shallot, a clove of garlic, and mushrooms. Halfway through roasting, I added some asiago cheese (also from Mandola’s).

See that cloud? That’s steam. This was a wonderful meal, although I don’t think that the tuna steak would have been very tasty without the Caponata. Also, all this food only took about 30 minutes to make after the oven was done preheating. So, no more excuses about not having time to cook, you slackers.

Nutrition of this Meal

Guess what? Zucchini is a summer squash, and therefore on the list. I didn’t know this before and haven’t been counting it. Oh no!

This meal contains 11 ingredients from the World’s Healthiest Foods list:

  • Tuna
  • Eggplant
  • Garlic
  • Onion
  • Tomato
  • Olives
  • Olive oil
  • Asparagus
  • Mushrooms
  • Summer squash
  • Quinoa

Guess what? That’s every ingredient in this meal, with the exception of spices.

You’ll be getting lots of food pics this weekend. My sister is moving back to school on Sunday, and so I’ve declared this a Baking Weekend so that she can take baked goods to my brother and for herself. I’ve already started. It’s been fun. Also, dinner will be out tomorrow and I will try to remember the camera/not be shy about taking pictures of food in public.

Go enjoy the Olympics!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. You obviously love the Runners Cookbook… so would you recomend ordering it online or did u buy it in a store?

  2. I ordered it online. There was a link from the Runner’s World homepage, but I think they have it on Amazon as well.

    I’ve been cooking from this book in honor of the Olympics, so that’s why it’s been in the blog a lot lately. I do like this cookbook, but I get my recipes from a variety of sources. One thing I don’t like about this book is that a lot of the recipes leave out important information, like how many servings the recipe makes.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

