Slightly Un-American

August 16, 2008 at 10:04 am | Posted in Racing, Running News | 2 Comments

I have a confession to make.

I like Deena Kastor. I really do. I like that she was an English major. I like that she runs for Asics. I really like that she has a coffee addiction and actually owns 14 French presses. She’s an amazing runner with numerous American records and only the second American female to medal in the Olympic marathon (bronze in 2004). I also like that she does keeps her website up-to-date, unlike Paula Radcliffe.

But I forgive Paula for the website, because I love her. She’s not American, but I’m hoping she wins the gold this weekend. (Hopefully Deena will get silver). I have my doubts that she will even be able to finish after battling a stress fracture, but I would rather she pull out of the race than ruin her career forever.

Why do I love Paula so much? Is it because my mom is British and brainwashed me with baked beans on toast, the Tennis Channel, and rooting for England during the World Cup or facing imminent death? Maybe, but I think that’s only a small part. I think I love Paula because of all the obstacles she’s overcome on her journey. She won the NYC Marathon the same year that she gave birth and had a stress fracture. She gets injured, making her human–not a machine like some elite athletes. She picks herself right back up after defeat.

And Paula is a mother. A mother with a marathon world record of 2:15:25. There’s a semi-unfounded theory that women will someday catch up to men in the marathon. Yes, the women in the Olympic marathon can probably beat 99.9% of worldwide male marathoners, but I’m guessing there’s also a 99.9% chance that the overall marathon record holder will always be male. But, there’s a 100% chance that no man will ever run 5 miles the day before giving birth. 

And so I’ll continue to love Paula out of pure amazement. Go Paula!

But also, go Deena, Magdalena, and Blake!

See Jess Be A Freaking Moron

So I’m going out to dinner tonight…instead of watching the marathon live. Why? I thought it was on Sunday. It is…in China. I almost rescheduled, but I would hate to miss dinner and then have crappy NBC coverage, so I’ll just let the DVR get it and watch when I get home. Don’t tell me what happens!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] in 2003 and 2007 and got silver in 2005. She also held the World Record for a while, until awesome Paula took it. And she’s 36 years old, making the top female Olympic marathoners at Beijing a heck […]

  2. […] in 2003 and 2007 and got silver in 2005. She also held the World Record for a while, until awesome Paula took it. And she’s 36 years old, making the top female Olympic marathoners at Beijing a heck […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

