Food for Fuel: Kerbey Lane Cafe

August 17, 2008 at 10:22 am | Posted in Food, Nutrition, Restaurants | 1 Comment

My sister left for college today, so I took her out to dinner at her restaurant of choice last night. I told her we could go somewhere fancy, but she had a pancake craving that could only be satisfied by Kerbey Lane Cafe. I love Kerbey Lane, and last night was both easy on my wallet and satisfying in my belly.

We almost got the famous Kerbey Queso as an appetizer, but decided that would be too filling. So, we got the Salsa Sampler instead.

Clockwise from top-left: habanero peach, mild salsa fresca, and spicy tomatillo Serrano. We didn’t even make a dent in this, but that’s ok because I took home the salsa fresca and the tomatillo. I didn’t care enough for the habanero peach to risk spilling it in my car.

My sister, of course, got  a full stack of the Pancake of the Day, which happened to be banana nut. I tasted it and it was probably the best pancake ever.

I was not craving pancakes, but kept looking at all the menu options with avocado, so I guess that’s what I was craving. I love the Kerbey Lane salads, so I got the Berkeley Salad with grilled shrimp.

And this may have been the best salad I have ever had! And I still couldn’t finish it! Check out that avocado. It even came with a soft, warm roll. I barely even needed the balsamic vinaigrette dressing.

Nutrition of this Meal

Not counting the salsas, because I don’t want to try to guess all the ingredients. This salad contains 10 ingredients on the World’s Healthiest Foods list:

  • Avocado
  • Cantaloupe
  • Grapes
  • Tomatoes
  • Onions
  • Romaine lettuce
  • Mushrooms
  • Garbanzo beans
  • Shrimp
  • Olive oil
1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] a side salad of mixed greens, baby carrots, green bell pepper, avocado, and leftover salsa from Kerbey Lane. […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

