Food for Fuel: Matt Tegenkamp’s Chipotle Sloppy Joes

August 17, 2008 at 8:50 pm | Posted in Beef, Food, From The Runner's Cookbook, Literature, Nutrition, Potatoes, Vegetable Side Dishes | 2 Comments

Man, I’ve done lots of Fuel posts today. Don’t go raising your standards on me. I’ll slack again soon.

Matt Tegenkamp is representing the U.S. in the 5K at the 2008 Olympics. He apparently makes some serious Man Food, as shown by his Chipotle Sloppy Joes in The Runner’s Cookbook.

This recipe was quick and easy. I liked it, but I changed it a bit and I hope I didn’t alter it too much. Instead of ground beef, I used sliced beef flank (already had it), and instead of chipotle pepper I used a red pepper and a green pepper from the farmer’s market. I know that chipotle peppers have a distinct taste, so this may have altered the recipe quite a bit. I was also pretty loose about measuring and really just did a scoop here, a dollop there instead of getting out the cups. I scaled down the ketchup quite a bit and did not have any cilantro.

Instead of making a sloppy joe sandwich, I decided to serve the mix over a baked potato. Because it’s not often that I’m home for an entire afternoon before dinner, I decided to try A Veggie Venture’s suggestion of baking the potato for 3 hours. I dumped the sloppy joes on the potato and covered them in a reduced-fat Mexican cheese blend. I also made a side salad of mixed greens, baby carrots, green bell pepper, avocado, and leftover salsa from Kerbey Lane.  

So, is it worth baking a potato for 3 hours? If you’re a fan of crispy potato skins, then definitely. If you don’t even eat the skins, I probably would not bother, although it did make the insides nice and soft. Also, nothing makes you crave your dinner like smelling it for hours. If you’re crunched for time, Tegenkamp’s recipe in a nice sandwich bun would be a great quick meal.

Nutrition of this Meal

This meal contains 11 ingredients from the World’s Healthist Foods list:

  • Avocado
  • Bell pepper
  • Carrots
  • Onion
  • Potato
  • Romaine lettuce
  • Tomatoes (in tomato sauce and salsa)
  • Low-fat cheese
  • Black beans
  • Cumin
  • Olive oil (rubbed on potato)

Hmm…quick, easy, stereotypical Man Food with 11 WHF ingredients. Yay!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Mmm– looks so colorful!

  2. Another great recipe from the runners cook book!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

