Strength Day and Monday Announcements

August 18, 2008 at 8:40 pm | Posted in Life, Racing, Strength Training, Training Method | 5 Comments

Time of Day: 5:50 AM

Weather: Air-conditioned

Duration: About an hour

Notes: If I must workout indoors, I’m glad that it happened on such a humid, nasty morning. I did my “off day” strength session before work and then spent the rest of the day with my shoulders and back getting progressively achy. I got a little annoyed beforehand because the lady opening the gym this morning took her sweet time, but I got everything in and now the dreaded weights are over until later this week.

Announcement #1

I’m going to tackle the Marathon. I’ve been considering this for quite some time and have been too scared about attempting this on my knee. But, I’ve gotten my mileage up high enough and managed my knee well enough, so I will be training for the White Rock Marathon in Dallas, Texas. It takes place on Dec. 14th, making it roughly 18 weeks away. Does anyone have a marathon training plan that they have used and liked?

In the meantime, I’m hoping to do the following races:

  • Silicon Labs Marathon Relay (9/21)
  • IBM Uptown Classic 10K (10/19)
  • Dallas Running Club Half Marathon (11/2)

Announcement #2

Even more importantly, I’m studying to become an ACE certified personal trainer. I’ve been studying for a few weeks now, and all the biomechanics and anatomy are more difficult than expected, but I’m remaining confident and optimistic. Finding the time to study with a full-time job is even more difficult, but I’m very excited about this potential change and can’t wait to pursue my love of fitness as a career.

And honestly, every time I go to the gym I remember why I want to be a personal trainer. About 75% of the people I see there are overweight and working out incorrectly. They want to be in shape and be healthy, they just don’t know how. I’m not going to be the obnoxious stranger who tells them that holding onto the bar of the treadmill while slugging down Gatorade isn’t going to give them an adequate workout. I guess I’ll have to wait until I have the credentials to be that annoying. 😉

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Whereas the blog gives you all the freedom in the world to say “Treadmill Use : Dos and Do Nots”

    Which I would unabashedly use to my own nefarious purposes.

  2. Oooh good idea!

  3. Whoa whoa whoa! You mean you’re NOT supposed to clutch to the treadmill bar like it’s a matter of life or death?

  4. that’s great you’ve decided to become certified! i just became certified and interviewed for a job- my cert is nsca cpt! i hope to be as good as a runner as you though! i’m working at it because i’m coming back from a knee injury (overuse.)

  5. Tra: I had an overuse injury for a lonnggg time. You will come back from it if you just keep at it. I’m doing better than ever now.

    Congrats on the job interview! If you have any tips on studying for the exam, please send them my way!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

