Food for Fuel: Eating My Veggies

August 20, 2008 at 10:00 pm | Posted in Food, Nutrition, Product Review, Sandwiches, Wraps, and Burgers, Vegetable Side Dishes, Vegetarian Entrees | 1 Comment

I wasn’t going to post tonight’s dinner because, well, I just made a veggie burger and used up some leftovers. But then it was delicious, and I decided to post anyway to show you some products I like, as well as a side dish that I crave on a regular basis: sweet potato fries.

I’m super tired from not sleeping well last night, so I didn’t feel like cooking. Although I’m not a vegetarian, I always have some veggie burgers in the freezer to use as a back up meal in case I need something quick or don’t have anything fresh. I like to try different flavors and brands, and this one is the Morningstar Spicy Black Bean burger. It’s delicious; one of the best flavors I’ve tried.

I served it on a new product that I got at Whole Paycheck: Food for Life Sprouted Grain English Muffins. These have a lot of protein and fiber and are meant to keep well in the freezer, which appeals to me because I won’t have to use them up quickly before they get moldy. These were very soft and tasty and the perfect size for my burger.

In the same skillet as the burger, I cooked red bell pepper, onions, and mushrooms, and served those on top. I also used shredded Mexican blend cheese. I smeared avocado on the bun.

On the side, I mixed together leftover canned corn, black beans, and Kerbey Lane salsa, added some chopped tomatoes and any bell pepper, onion, and mushroom that wouldn’t fit on top of the burger. It was good, but a little watery on the bottom, so I didn’t finish it all.

Most importantly, I made sweet potato fries. These are so simple and good! Just slice up a sweet potato, brush on a little olive oil (or coat with cooking spray), and season to taste. I used Lawry’s Seasoning Salt this time, but you can use cumin, salt and pepper, garlic powder, curry powder, etc. Bake at 425* or 450* until they are at your desired level of crispiness. I flipped them midway and sprinkled on some black pepper. I dipped them in spicy mustard and ketchup.

And there you have it: my quick and healthy alternative to a burger and fries. Plus probably a day’s worth of veggies for like…8 people.

Nutrition of this Meal

This might be off a bit. I don’t feel like walking allll the way to the freezer to look at the ingredients list for my veggie burgers. This meal contains about 11 ingredients from the World’s Healthiest Foods list:

  • Avocado
  • Bell pepper
  • Onion
  • Mushrooms
  • Sweet potatoes
  • Tomatoes
  • Low-fat cheese
  • Black beans
  • Whole wheat (the English muffins have quite the complex blend of whole grains like rye, oats, etc. but I’m just going to count them as one ingredient)
  • Soybeans
  • Olive oil

Lunch

My lunch out with Company Big Cheese went well enough, and now I can officially recommend Z’Tejas to you. Luckily, the Whole Paycheck-induced nausea ended after I showered, but I still wasn’t especially hungry at lunch. I loved the Grilled Ruby Trout Salad, but next time I am totally going there while starving and getting Baked Seafood Enchiladas.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I love sweet potato fries. And those sprouted grain muffins are my favorite. Glad your lunch with Big Cheese went well!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

