Daily Run: I’m Going to Wear Myself Out!

August 21, 2008 at 9:54 pm | Posted in Daily Run, Strength Training | 2 Comments

Time of Day: 5:50 AM

Weather: Another pretty morning.

Duration: 55 min.

Estimated Distance (based on assumed pace of 7:35/mile): 7.25 miles

Notes: I started out slowly today, not only because my legs were a little tired at first but because I’ve been running fast this week. However, I stopped holding back towards the end, but I need to be careful because recovery days are important to training and according to the long run schedule that I made today, I’m going 14 miles on Saturday (already!).

Strength Training

I went to the gym after work today. It was emptier than it usually is on a Thursday afternoon. I guess bikini season is coming to a close. I did about 40 minutes of weights and core strengthening.

I did the usual 2 sets of 15 reps of the following arm exercises:

  • Lat pulldown
  • Lat row
  • Shoulder press
  • Vertical butterfly
  • Chest press
  • Bicep curls
  • Tricep dips/extensions

And:

  • 30 inclined sit-ups holding a 6-lb. medicine ball
  • Home therapy exercises
  • Core workout (linked in side bar). I’m in the Dynamic Phase, Week 3

I’ve been doing these same exercises for a while. Sometimes they feel too easy and I think about upping the weight, but strangely enough, they are difficult just as often. I’m not sure why, but today was one of the easy days. I won’t complain! 

How about those Olympic sprinters of ours? I’m going to hold my tongue. Sheesh.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. It is amusing to see the gym clear out during the fall and then get crowded again in January. By the way, I’ve added your home therapy exercise to my strength training for prehab and my knee has been feeling ok (knock on wood); not sure if they’re related but thanks for posting them!

  2. GREAT WORKOUTS!

    can I suggest adding a set per exercise? lessening the reps then if need be?

    would your time allow?


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

