Daily Run: Learning to be Kinder

August 22, 2008 at 7:59 pm | Posted in Daily Run, Life | 3 Comments

Time of Day: 5:50 AM

Weather: A little hotter and more humid.

Duration: 42 min.

Estimated Distance (based on assumed pace of 7:35/mile): 5.54 miles

Notes: I kept today’s run short(ish) and slow in the hopes that my legs will be refreshed for my long run tomorrow. Holding back was not difficult for me today, as I’m usually pretty exhausted by Friday.

Terribly exhausted, in fact, and I’m glad that I worked late earlier in the week so that I could leave early today. I intended to visit Geno in Houston, but we discovered that next weekend is Labor Day and that we will have an extra day together if I wait until then. So, a nice, short work day, but I’m tired and a little lonely.

I had a list of stuff that I wanted to accomplish after work. I got the grocery shopping done and then got a headache and crashed on the couch for a bit. I think I need one evening of down time, just like my legs needed an easier morning. I need to be kinder to myself; the bathroom isn’t that dirty and I can clean it tomorrow. I can take a night off studying. I can do things that I enjoy, like cook a nice meal, update my blog, catch up on the Olympics. Maybe even read!? For FUN!?

But only one evening of kindness. Tomorrow I’m getting up at 6 AM, running 14 miles, and forcing myself into an icebath. No more Ms. Nice Lady.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hi! I just found your blog from a comment on Jenna’s. I like how you reflect on your runs! Can’t wait to read more. Thank goodness for google reader. 🙂

    Heather

  2. Thanks Heather!

  3. […] – bookmarked by 3 members originally found by argonauta on 2008-11-06 Daily Run: Learning to be Kinder https://seejessrun.wordpress.com/2008/08/22/daily-run-learning-to-be-kinder/ – bookmarked by 5 […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

