Food for Fuel: Stuffed Portabello and Salmon over Linguine

August 22, 2008 at 8:28 pm | Posted in Food, Nutrition, Pasta, Product Review, Seafood, Vegetable Side Dishes | 4 Comments

I’m especially proud of tonight’s dinner. Not only was it delicious, but I did it without a recipe. Also, preparing it got me out of my headachy, tired, lonely funk.

I like to roast and stuff vegetables, preferably using lots of cheese. If you’ve been reading for a while, you may notice that roasting veggies and topping them with cheese, be it a bell pepper, a tomato, or an eggplant, is a slight obsession of mine. Tonight’s victim was a portabello mushroom, around which I centered my meal.

First, I lightly brushed olive oil on both sides of the mushroom. I layered on some baby spinach and torn basil, then a mixture of jarred roasted red bell peppers, capers, garlic, and oregano. I roasted it at 425* for about 20 minutes, topped it with freshly grated asiago and parmesan, and then roasted for about 8 more minutes.

I lazily used salad dressing to marinade my salmon: Newman’s Own Light Balsamic Vinaigrette. It worked perfectly. I put the salmon on the same baking sheet as the portabello when I took out the mushroom to top with cheese. It was nicely done in those 8 minutes.

In the meantime, I prepared my whole wheat linguine and threw some garlic, shallot, and chopped zucchini in a skillet and simmered them in white wine. I melted a Laughing Cow Light Cheese in Garlic Herb with the veggies. I also chopped some grape tomatoes in half and combined them with a few nicoise olives and fresh basil. I think I could have skipped the skillet and wine altogether and just mixed the veggies and cheese with the hot noodles. I added spaghetti squash and another Laughing Cow cheese to the noodles.

Altogether:

The stuffed portabello was the star of the meal and I think it will be on regular rotation for me. The Laughing Cow cheese made the noodles taste nice and creamy without adding a lot of fat and without taking away from the flavor of the mushroom and salmon.

Nutrition of this Meal

This meal contains 14 ingredients from the World’s Healthiest Foods list:

  • Salmon
  • Whole wheat
  • Basil
  • Olive oil
  • Olives
  • Mushrooms
  • Onions (shallot)
  • Garlic
  • Tomatoes
  • Spinach
  • Oregano
  • Summer squash (zucchini)
  • Bell peppers
  • Low-fat cheese (only the Laughing Cow. Parmesan and asiago were not low-fat)

Unfortunately, after I went grocery shopping today I received this letter in the mail:

Dear Jessica,

Stop spending so much money on food. You are one person. You do not need to buy three kinds of cheese in one day. You do not need another kind of rice in your pantry. Soup does not need to be organic. Also, stop spending so much time at the grocery store every time you go. You do not need to wander around until your bananas ripen. This is why you think you have no time to do yoga.

Sincerely,

Your Wallet

P.S. You should probably consider walking to the grocery store as well. Gas is burning a whole in me.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. WOW! that meal looks wonderful. i will have to try something w/ mushrooms like that too — i love portabellos. and the letter = hilarious. i spend WAY too much $ at whole foods, but i consider it a worthwhile luxury.

  2. wow that looks really good. you need to come cook for me!

  3. Thanks guys! It was actually very easy.

  4. […] Quinoa, Sausage, Turkey, Vegetables I’ve been craving another stuffed portabello since Friday. Good thing I bought a package of […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

