Favorites from The Runner’s Cookbook

August 23, 2008 at 10:50 pm | Posted in Food, From The Runner's Cookbook, Literature, Running News | 1 Comment

The Olympics are drawing to a close, and I did not get through all of the Olympians recipes in The Runner’s Cookbook. I just got done watching Wanjiru break the Olympic Marathon record, and I think it’s just a matter of time before we see the World record fall as well. I can’t believe he’s 21. I can’t believe he weighs the same amount as I did in college.

But enough about Wanjiru’s awesomeness, this post is an answer to a question from a reader and fellow runner about recommendations from The Runner’s Cookbook. Because I know others have ordered this book as well, I’m going to answer the question in a general post.

Here’s a list of all the recipes I’ve tried. Most are on the blog, but not all:

  • Pumpkin Bread/Muffins (Blake Russell)
  • Hearty Minestrone (Brian Sell)
  • Veggie and Chicken Stir Fry (Kara and Adam Goucher)
  • Flanagan/Edwards Fajitas (Shalane Flanagan)
  • Enchilada Casserole (Jen Rhines)
  • Chipotle Sloppy Joes (Matt Tegenkamp)
  • Artichoke Lasagna (Amy Hastings)
  • Pumpkin Lasagna (Deena Kastor)
  • Penne Giardiniera (Kathy Butler)
  • Lemon Rosemary Chicken (Jen Toomey)
  • Salmon Fillets Steamed in Orange and Honey (Mary Cullen)
  • Rolled Oat Cookies (Doris Heritage)
  • Nutty Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Sandwiches (Shannon Rowbury)

I liked almost all of them, but here are my Top 5, in random order:

The only two that I did not like are:

  • Penne Giardiniera (Kathy Butler). I think I did this one incorrectly, so don’t let my opinion keep you from trying it.
  • Rolled Oat Cookies (Doris Heritage). If you make these and actually like them, let me know what I did incorrectly, because I’d really like to know.
1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. hey, i just found your blog and love how you write! i tried running a marathon a year ago but go hurt, so i’m trying to get back into the swing of it! but i love you blog and hope you don’t mind me adding you to my blogroll!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

