Food for Fuel: Spicy Sausage Pizza

August 23, 2008 at 10:31 pm | Posted in Food, Nutrition, Pizza, Poultry, Product Review | 3 Comments

Yesterday I bought Honeysuckle White Turkey Sausage in Spicy Italian, and today I remembered that they are one of my favorite pizza toppings and that I haven’t made pizza in…several weeks!? And I have tons of cheese in the fridge and lots of time to make the crust!

So, I made one of my best pizzas yet. I started with my favorite honey whole wheat crust, of course. I separated the dough into three balls and froze two of them for later use. I’ve often been skipping sauce and using fresh tomatoes, but tonight I used my favorite jarred pasta sauce: Central Market Organics Primavera Pasta Sauce.

This sauce is very healthy, with lots of vegetables chunks and wonderful flavor. I just put a small spoonful on the crust because too much will make it soggy.

In addition to my sauce and sausage, I used:

  • Shallot
  • Garlic
  • Red and green bell pepper
  • Mushrooms
  • A couple nicoise olives to finally use them up
  • Pepperoncini peppers
  • Crushed red pepper
  • Fresh basil
  • A variety of cheese: Bagged 2% Italian blend and fat-free Italian, plus some nicer asiago and parmesan

It was in the oven a total of 18 minutes, but I kept messing with the temperature. I started at 400* to see if it would give me a chewier crust, then put it on 450* until the cheese started to brown, and then turned it off but left the pizza in to make the cheese browner. I usually just use 425*, which works well.

A thin crust, spicy pizza. It was so good. I may have used more cheese than usual.

Nutrition of this Meal

I’m not going to go to the ingredients list of the jarred sauce–but I will count the tomatoes in it. This meal contains 10 ingredients from the World’s Healthiest Foods list (11 if you count the honey in the crust):

  • Bell pepper
  • Mushroom
  • Tomato
  • Garlic
  • Olives
  • Basil
  • Turkey
  • Whole wheat
  • Onion
  • Low-fat cheese
3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] Parmesan recipe is nice and simple. She recommends Paul Newman’s spaghetti sauce; I used my favorite. I discovered that the old breadcrumbs in my pantry contain trans fat (gasp!), so I decided to […]

  2. […] are delicious once heated in the oven. I had one tiny piece of chicken left, so I made a sub using my favorite jarred sauce, chicken, red bell pepper, red onion, sliced Kalamata olives, pepperoncini peppers, and sliced […]

  3. […] Parmesan recipe is nice and simple. She recommends Paul Newman’s spaghetti sauce; I used my favorite. I discovered that the old breadcrumbs in my pantry contain trans fat (gasp!), so I decided to […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

