Daily Run: Ode to the Ice Bath

August 24, 2008 at 11:22 am | Posted in Daily Run | 3 Comments

Time of Day: 8:40 AM

Weather: Light rain, yet somehow still sunny. This weird combo shot the humidity through the roof.

Duration: 53 min.

Estimated Distance (based on assumed pace of 7:35/mile): 6.99 miles

Notes: I let myself sleep in today instead of getting up early to beat the heat. On weekends I tend to go to bed slightly later, say to myself “Well I’ll just get up early and then take a nap later.” Then I don’t take a nap, and I say “I’ll just go to bed early tonight.” And then I don’t do that either. Thus, the sleep deprivation cycle begins before I even hit the work week.

So today I slept in, kinda. I kept waking up, but I was in bed longer. Good for me.

At first the light rain was refreshing, but then it stopped, and the resulting steam was…not so refreshing. As you can see above, however, I still made it about 7 miles. After a brief warm-up period, my legs felt just fine, despite yesterday’s long run. I think the ice bath did it’s job. This is unfortunate, because it means that I need to keep doing it.

Tomorrow is my off day. Does anyone else hate off days?  

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Off days are a challenge for me too… but than again sometimes i think i would be better off if I really took like 2 off days!

  2. YES. I tend to sneak in some kind of yoga or swimming or something….but I think today must be a total off day because I did my longest run ever yesterday! (18 miles) I am seriously feeling it today, but still bummed about taking a true day off. Is that weird??

  3. I try to remind myself that taking a day off will make me a BETTER runner, but it just feels so weird! It just takes one really bad injury to make you be more careful about rest though.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

