Food for Fuel: Experimental Tofu Risotto

August 24, 2008 at 9:07 pm | Posted in Food, Nutrition, Rice, Quinoa, and Other Grains, Seafood, Tofu | 2 Comments

I gave up meat last year for Lent. It was just 40 days, but it was harder than I expected. During this time, I tried cooking tofu on several occasions. None were successful. Recently, I decided that I should give tofu another try. It’s healthy, cheap, and should be very versatile and easy to prepare.

I love risotto. How could you not love a creamy, cheesy, rice dish? I also know that silken tofu is often used in desserts, usually in creamy pie dishes or cheesecakes to make them vegan. So, I decided to try using silken tofu to add creaminess to my risotto.

FOUND: Short grain brown rice, which can be used for risotto (traditionally made with white Arborio rice). I’m excited about this find–I’m already thinking of other uses for a stickier, brown rice.

You’re as excited as I am, I’m sure. On with the experiment.

  • Brought 1 cup beef broth and 1.5 cups water to a simmer
  • Threw chopped shallot and 1 clove chopped garlic in a skillet for a few minutes
  • Added 1/2 cup rice, stirred constantly for a minute or so. Note: At this point I would usually add a little dry white wine, but I didn’t have any. It’s a delicious addition to risotto.
  • Added 1/2 cup of the simmering liquid. Stirred until nearly absorbed. Added another 1/2 cup
  • Added dried rosemary and thyme. Didn’t measure but probably 3/4-1 tsp. of each
  • Added pre-cooked cocktail shrimp
  • Added chopped zucchini and mushrooms
  • Added 1/2 package of silken tofu
  • Kept adding 1/2 cup of liquid, letting it absorb each time before adding more. You need to stir it pretty constantly
  • In between adding the liquid, I added 1 wedge of Laughing Cow cheese, freshly grated Parmesan (a must for risotto!), and chopped fresh basil and sage
  • Added bunches of baby spinach in batches, letting wilt each time before adding more. At this point I had used up all the liquid
  • At the last minute I decided to stir in some garbanzo beans

Results?

The tofu didn’t get creamy like I hoped–just kind of broke down into tiny pieces. Perhaps it needs to be blended first? Overall, the dish was creamy and yummy, and therefore successful. Also, nice and filling, even though it looks small there in the bowl.

Nutrition of this Meal

This meal contains 13 ingredients from the World’s Healthiest Foods list:

  • Brown rice
  • Shrimp
  • Summer squash (zucchini)
  • Mushrooms
  • Garlic
  • Onion (shallot)
  • Tofu
  • Garbanzo beans
  • Low-fat cheese (Laughing Cow)
  • Basil
  • Sage
  • Rosemary
  • Thyme

All in one bowl!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. LOVE IT.

    adore the all in 1 bowl.

    as always **love** the food as fuel notion.

  2. I never thought of sneaking tofu into risotto. I’m always looking for ways to boost my protein since I am a vegetarian– great trick! Maybe I’ll experiment (pureeing tofu?) because I love risotto.

    I also love that short grain brown rice for hot cereal and rice pudding…will be looking forward to seeing what you come up with!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

