Food for Fuel: Turkey Sausage Stuffed Portabello

August 25, 2008 at 10:11 pm | Posted in Food, Nutrition, Poultry, Vegetable Side Dishes | 1 Comment

I’ve been craving another stuffed portabello since Friday. Good thing I bought a package of two.

I doused this one in a little red wine vinegar and put some chopped red onion, garlic, and dried oregano on the gills. I roasted it for about 15 minutes at 425*. I roasted some asparagus spears seasoned with salt and pepper on the same sheet.

In the meantime, I cooked a turkey sausage link and made Red Incan quinoa. While the quinoa was cooking, I added chopped garlic, red onion, zucchini, and carrots. Towards the end I stirred in some halved grape tomatoes and seasoned the dish with rice vinegar and lemon juice before serving.

After the portabello roasted for 15 minutes, I topped it with baby spinach, the turkey sausage, and a big garlic-stuffed olive that I chopped up. I topped it all with a slice of Boar’s Head Baby Swiss (are you impressed with my Cheese Collection yet?) and put it back in the oven (asparagus too) until the cheese reached the desired state of melty-ness.

I smeared the roasted asparagus with Smart Balance Light, balsamic vinegar, and low-sodium soy sauce. It was so good. I couldn’t decide whether to serve my portabello this way or try it in a sandwich. I don’t think the sandwich would have worked with all that turkey sausage! I have a lot more of the quinoa mix and leftover asparagus for tomorrow’s lunch (adding garbanzo beans, feta, and fresh basil), and I’m excited already.

Nutrition of this Meal

This meal contains 13 ingredients from the World’s Healthiest Foods list:

  • Mushroom
  • Tomato
  • Onion
  • Garlic
  • Olive (ok, just one)
  • Spinach
  • Summer squash
  • Carrots
  • Asparagus
  • Quinoa
  • Turkey
  • Oregano
  • Soy sauce
1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. You are such a good influence on me! Just so you know, since I’ve been seeing your meals I’ve added so many more veggies and good grains (like quinoa) to mine. Although you are also a bad influence because I just saw your links in the last post and am going to be spending my time there instead of working for the rest of the morning!

    Re your question on my blog: I’m a “fake” vegetarian because I eat fish. But no other animals. My favorite use for leftover soft tofu is blending it with some cocoa powder, cinnamon, honey and calling it pudding.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

