Food for Fuel: Catherine Ndereba’s Mokimo…Kind of

August 26, 2008 at 10:11 pm | Posted in Food, From The Runner's Cookbook, Literature, Nutrition, Potatoes, Poultry | 4 Comments

Tonight I cooked a traditional Kenyan dish, courtesy of Catherine Ndereba and The Runner’s Cookbook.

And if you don’t already know who Catherine Ndereba, aka Catherine the Great is, get off my blog.

No wait! Don’t go! I’ll tell you!

Ndereba is a staple of the marathon world. She was the silver medal winner in both the 2008 and 2004 Olympic Marathons. She won the World Championships in 2003 and 2007 and got silver in 2005. She also held the World Record for a while, until awesome Paula took it. And she’s 36 years old, making the top female Olympic marathoners at Beijing a heck of a lot older than the men. Also…taller? Interesting.

Also, I really liked her Mokimo, which is a potato-based dish. I wish I could just type out the recipe for you, but you know, copyright and all. I almost didn’t make it tonight because potatoes usually take a long time, but this took less than 30 minutes.

For those with the cookbook, I used kidney beans and red potatoes (left on the skins). I didn’t have corn, but used peas instead. I also added turkey sausage. The annoying thing about cooking for one is that when you buy a package of meat, you have to eat it almost daily if you don’t want to freeze it.

On the side, I roasted asparagus and mushrooms in the oven, seasoned with olive oil, salt, pepper, and crushed red pepper.

It’s not the most visually pleasing meal, but it was delicious. It’s very plain, earthy food, and you could easily add some kind of dressing or spices. Ndereba suggests serving it with chicken or beef stew, which sounds amazing. The original recipe is vegetarian, with beans being the protein source.

Nutrition of this Meal

It shouldn’t be very difficult to recreate this dish from the ingredients list below. 😉 This meal contains 9 ingredients from the World’s Healthiest Foods list:

  • Asparagus
  • Mushrooms
  • Olive oil
  • Black pepper
  • Potatoes
  • Spinach
  • Kidney beans
  • Turkey
  • Onion
4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Looks good!

    I feel lucky to be a woman when I see who the fastest marathoners are– gives me hope about the whole improving with age thing.

  2. I think i am going to go out and get this book today… I am going to hit up Borders and Barnes and Nobles because it seems lke you make a lot of stuff from there!

  3. […] Women Marathoners. First of all, thank you, LA Times, for actually caring. Second of all, make Catherine Ndereba’s mokimo for dinner. It’s good carbo-loading […]

  4. I’ve had the pleasure of eating Mokimo made by Catherine Ndereba in her home and I can attest that it is delicious! You can get more personal information on Catherine and the documentary film I am producing here: http://www.wincatherine.blogspot.com and http://vimeo.com/2469308.
    Try the Mokimo!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

