Daily Run: Starting Off a Busy Day

August 27, 2008 at 4:37 pm | Posted in Daily Run | 6 Comments

Time of Day: 5:55 AM

Weather: Nice and clear like yesterday. A little more humid, as evidenced by the number of gnats stuck to my skin by the time I got home.

Duration: 53 min.

Estimated Distance (based on assumed pace of 7:35/mile): 6.99 miles

Notes: I’m a bad, bad person and have degenerated into blogging from work. I don’t have much to do here today and lots to do after, and yet I have to be here another hour before I commute, stop at the store, and try to get in some study time. I figure it’s best if I don’t even turn on my computer when I get home. Maybe I can even get some laundry done.

Speaking of stopping at the store, don’t you hate it when you’re going away for the weekend and so you don’t want to buy fresh food beforehand, but then you run out of milk, contact solution, and Sleepytime Tea and have to go anyway?

But anyway, this post is not about work or groceries. I had a standard run today. It got fast in the middle, but my left leg has some odd tightness in it from speeding up hills yesterday, and this makes my cranky knee flare up. This reminded me that because I ran fast yesterday, I need to recover a little today so that I can continue to be a strong runner all week. Especially on Saturday for that 16-miler. So, I tempered down the speed and concentrated on running steadily and smoothly instead.

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I really must concur with your comment on my blog. That woman is just ASKING for trouble running on 6th Street at noon. Tramp. Dehydrated tramp.

  2. ooooh blogging from work?

    thats allowed?! (wink)

  3. 1) I am a bad person, too. Enough said.

    2) Yes, I do hate that, and I did have to buy milk yesterday evening even though we’re leaving for the weekend tonight. I also adore Sleepytime Tea.

    3) Hope knee calms down and you have a great 16-miler this weekend!

  4. “…as evidenced by the number of gnats stuck to my skin by the time I got home.”

    Thanks for planting that image in my mind.

  5. Jameson, So not what I meant!

    Ben, You are VERY welcome!

    MizFit and tfh, I was already reading so many blogs at work…just one more step 😉

  6. 5:55! Really?!? I don’t know how you guys do it. Maybe I should go to bed earlier!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

