Daily Run: A Good Reason to Get Up

August 28, 2008 at 9:45 pm | Posted in Daily Run, Strength Training | Leave a comment

Time of Day: 5:50 AM

Weather: Humid. A few more clouds. It’s getting darker…bummer.

Duration: 57 min.

Estimated Distance (based on assumed pace of 7:35/mile): 7.52 miles

Notes: Last night I went to bed at an unprecendented 9:30 PM. Good for me…except it took me about an hour to fall asleep…even with Tylenol PM. I don’t know what the deal is. Any good tips?

I almost crawled back into bed this morning, but I knew I wouldn’t fall asleep but would instead feel guilty for 15 minutes, get up, and be late. So, up I got and out I went. And like always, I’m still glad I did.

A medium-paced run. The knee was better, and that is of course a huge relief. I didn’t go very fast, but that made me feel extra jaunty by the end of the run and I circled the neighborhood a bit, procrastinating on going home and getting ready for work.

Someone in the area has a rooster. I can hear it for several miles on my run. I hope their neighbors like getting up early.

Strength Training

I went to the gym after work today and it took me forever. I have no idea why; I just did my usual routine–2 sets of 15 reps of the following arm exercises:

  • Lat pulldown
  • Lat row
  • Shoulder press
  • Vertical butterfly
  • Chest press
  • Bicep curls
  • Tricep dips/extensions

And:

  • 30 inclined sit-ups holding a 6-lb. medicine ball
  • Home therapy exercises
  • Core workout (linked in side bar). I’m in Base Phase 2.

I really like that core workout, by the way. It has one week of Base exercises followed by three weeks of Dynamic exercises, and then you go back to Base, etc. Cyclical abs. Cool.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

