Food for Fuel: Using-Up-Veggies Baked Pasta

August 28, 2008 at 10:07 pm | Posted in Food, Life, Nutrition, Pasta, Poultry | Leave a comment

I’m going away for Labor Day weekend. Gloriously, it’s to see Geno in Houston. And actually, I need to brag about Geno for a second. Skip this next section if Boyfriend Brags annoy you.

*Begin Boyfriend Brag*

Geno just survived his second week at medical school. Yes, he’s a super smarty. In fact, I’m so proud that I’m going to give him the blog nickname of Med School Boyfriend. This will help the readers remember who Geno is, and also distinguish him from Filthy Rich Boyfriend and Arm Candy Man Bimbo Boyfriend, both of whom serve their purposes in my life as well. Come to think of it…Med School Boyfriend isn’t the greatest blog nickname. I mean, it’s a whole lot longer than ‘Geno’. So, we’ll call him MSB, because we could all use another acronym in our lives, and that’s a whole letter shorter than Geno.

*End Boyfriend Brag (Naming Ceremony?)*

Anyway, you might not hear from me as much this weekend. I’ll try to update from Houston, but if not I promise you will get a big update when I get back!

Oh yes, I made pasta tonight.

Because I’m leaving town, I wanted to use up some of my fresh veggies and that last turkey sausage. So, after boiling the pasta and cooking the sausage in a skillet with chopped red onion, I layered the following in an 8×8 baking pan:

  • My favorite jarred pasta sauce
  • Spaghetti squash
  • Zucchini, sliced thin
  • Green bell pepper, chopped
  • Mushrooms, sliced
  • Pasta (whole wheat penne)
  • 1 big garlic-stuffed olive, sliced
  • Turkey sausage with onions
  • 2% cottage cheese
  • Bagged fat-free mozzarella
  • Freshly grated asiago and parmesan

I didn’t layer in that order, but put a little sauce in the bottom of the pan, followed by spaghetti squash, alternated all the veggies, turkey, pasta, and cottage cheese, and topped with the other cheeses. I liberally sprinkled parsley on top.

Baked at 350* for 30 minutes.

After I took it out of the oven, I put some fresh basil on top.

That’s a little over half of it on the plate. It looks like tons of food, so I didn’t pile it all on there. However, I only used one serving of pasta and most of the dish is veggies, so I ended up eating almost all of it. The portion on my plate would not have been nearly enough after two workouts and two fairly small meals earlier today.

I believe this is called Volume Eating. It occurs when you eat tons of food for not many calories. It’s awfully fun and satisfying.

Nutrition of this Meal

This meal contains 11 ingredients from the World’s Healthiest Foods list:

  • Whole wheat
  • Tomatoes
  • Summer squash
  • Mushrooms
  • Onions
  • Turkey
  • Bell pepper
  • Low-fat cheese
  • Olives
  • Basil
  • Parsley
Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

