Daily Run: Longer Than Intended

August 30, 2008 at 2:44 pm | Posted in Daily Run, Training Method | 1 Comment

Time of Day: 6:35 AM

Weather: Temperate enough I guess.

Duration: 2 hours 20 minutes. No, not a typo.

Estimated Distance (based on assumed pace of 8:00/mile): 17.5 miles

Notes: I need to type this up quickly so I can get some studying in today, because when you accidentally run at least 17.5 miles instead of a mere 16, the entire morning and early afternoon is apparently spent running, stretching/icing, lying comatose for a few hours, and watching part of Undercover Brother while eating peanut butter and banana.

I had a foolproof plan. Because I’ve never run in this area before, I very responsibly created a route on Google Maps, printed both the directions and the map, and rewrote the directions on an easily transportable notecard. This morning I folded the map alongside my Clif Shot Blok in the tiny pocket inside my shorts. I carried the notecard. Directions easily accessible in the palm of my hand.

Sound too easy?

It should.

Because it was.

I missed the third turn. Not my fault that the street has two freaking names! I figured out my mistake and backtracked (thank you MSB for making me take the map), and it added about a mile. Later, I ran the wrong way on a road which threw everything off. I wasn’t lost, but I sure added on some time in the hot sun.

MSB lives in a decently nice urban running area. It’s safe, and I got a nice tour of the huge medical center, a park, the Rice University campus, and the gorgeous houses where the Big Cheeses who work in these places get to live. With two separate running trails and lots of public areas, you would think there would be a water fountain out there.

No. I’m still rehydrating. And let this be a lesson to you: I drink water all day long. You can’t just drink before, during, and after a run, especially not during the summer in Texas. I made it through most of this run without feeling dehydrated, even without finding water. If I wasn’t already extremely hydrated, this would have been one ugly run.

But hey, I’m not going to spend this post complaining. Next time will be easier and more familiar. Also, running 18 in my next long run should not be such a challenge now, since I got so close this time.

The Mocha flavored Clif Shot Blok is delicious, by the way. Hopefully it also easily washes out of white running shirts, because I got it everywhere.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] me a few times. Apparently the heat was an issue for some people. I guess they should have done a 17.5 mile training run in Houston in August without water, because the temperature felt wonderful to […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

